You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Upvote Bots: Are They Ethical, Useful, or Even Profitable?

in #steemit7 years ago

I think it was very a very interesting video and subject. I am quite new here but from what you said you repeatedly talked about good content, my point of view is most people think they genuinely provide good content, I mean I hope.
I just started a few days ago on steemit and I am still struggling finding a lot of article that I found are helpful to me.
Because it is still a fairly newish platform I believe that with time we will have more and more people, better content. I don't think paying for upvote is a really great long term strategy, everyone got to learn and I think that if you pay it does not really allow you to improve your writing skills, video making skills, or even improve your content, because you can't know what are the areas that are not working.
Most of the content it is in majority about steem/steemit, which is strange because a social media platform is not only to talk about the platform, I hope that we will see more variety to make Steemit better.

I hope I am not too negative it is not my intent, I jut want to share my thoughts.

Sort:  

I agree. Most people probably do "think" that their content is supreme. But it's really more important what others think. And if you're only focused on how the bots are performing then you could potentially miss the boat (or the point of Steemit in general). In order to become successful here or on any other social or blogging site, you must focus on your audience and provide what they want. So you're right; I think that if you use upvote bots and don't actually have communication with your audience and listen to their needs, then you can fail miserably. That's why I always listen to you guys and gals and try my best to communicate with you all. Those upvote bots don't comment anything useful, lol. So I depend on you to tell me what you like, don't like, or aren't sure about. I made a video the other day on the 5 Things Every Steemit User Should Be Doing where I point out ways to grow your channel beyond using upvote bots: https://steemit.com/steemit/@brandonfrye/5-things-every-steemit-user-should-be-doing

And you're right that a lot of content here is about Steemit and/or crypto currencies. This is for two reasons: 1) Steemit is brand new so people are still trying to learn how to use it and make the most out of it. 2) A lot of people find Steemit due to their research into crypto currencies. So these are people who are already fascinated with crypto and that's what they like to talk about.

I've mentioned this before, but I know that Steemit will become more robust and have more variety as we continue to move forward and grow. Much like Facebook was all about college in it's early days, Steemit is all about crypto these days. So it's up to the new people coming on board to add to the variety. But that makes it all the better opportunity to dominate a category (or tag) and run with it. Lots of opportunity here for the early adopters. :)

I pretty much agree with everything you just said and will check your article. I am very excited about Steemit and look forward for it to have more variety and also a suggestion tab so I can find people that provide similar content to what I upvote. Like Youtube and IG do. Maybe it exist and I am just clueless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45