You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is it important to follow and upvote small accounts? - The key to a healthy community growth.

in #steemit7 years ago

I agree for the most part. Whales have the most Steem Power but minnows give Steem value. What I mean by that is, minnows are the bulk of Steemit's population and we represent how widely accepted Steem is. If we stopped using Steem en masse (not what I'm suggesting), the site would suffer and even 1,000,000 SP probably wouldn't be worth anything. I don't think we should upvote people just because they're minnows but it really is important to seek out the best content from newcomers and reward it so they'll be encouraged to stay. It's good for everyone in the long run.

Sort:  

I heartily agree with you. The lifeblood of a system like this is spreading your influence around and providing visibility and feedback to posts that you want to see more of. I know building an audience takes time. I've been blogging for 15 years on and off. But, many don't and everyone needs the positive encouragement to continue, improve and grow.

This is my first time blogging seriously or being this interactive online. I feel the discouragement but I'm so convinced that Steemit will succeed that I'm willing to keep going. Not everyone is convinced yet and it's hard to spend hours writing quality posts with no certainty they'll be read. Even if we can't upvote them into the trending section, a well thought out comment can be encouraging.

And don't forget more lucrative. My last comment made me more money than all of my posts yesterday... and that is disheartening. But, keep going, and participate. Steemit is a social network that rewards quality over quantity, unlike twitter which is truly just the old shout-style advertising model because the engagement is so low.

To succeed you need tens of thousands to drive traffic to a monetary decision point. Here, all you have to do is write something good and your following is incentivized to promote it. Too many people here don't see that difference yet... but it's because of habit.

But, it'll come the more we change our habits and thinking... the changes to the reward system that is upcoming in Hard Fork 19 will help a lot as well.

Yes! This 10 ten times!
We all like Steemit because it gives us "a way out" or regular-shouting-meme-spamming social media. Quality here is well rewarded. Well, not everytime, and that is what this post is about, rewarding good quality without thinking of who wrote it but thinking about "this is a great post, ill upvote it".

We, as early users of this platform, have to draw the line where we want it. If we upvote spammy articles or quantity over quality then that is what we are going to get and in no time we will be like facebook (which I dont want) or Twitter, platforms that reward quantity over quality.

I put some of my initial thoughts on this subject in a post a few days ago that you may like.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldgoatsnguns/what-i-love-best-about-steem

I opened in another tab so I don´t forget, I for sure will read it today! Thanks

Do you know when Hard fork 19 is going to happen? The last one caught me off guard.

I don't. It was announced on the 23rd of May. No word that I've seen. The sooner the better for a minnow like me. :)

i couldn´t have said it more accurately. It is not about upvoting minnows just for the sake of being minnows but to recognize hard work and quality where it is. It doesn´t matter if the content comes from a whale or a minnow, we should give credit where credit is due.

In the past I saw some very good posts getting 0.08 SBD and I have to accept I though "mmm I´ll upvote it but it is not worth writing a comment since i don´t care if this minnow follows me or not, let´s fish for the big whales". This thought I had it regularly on my first days of Steemit because let´s face it, when we start we are all out there fishing for Moby dick when in reality, we should be thinking bout carrying smaller fished on our back. There´s where the true community lies.

I know how that feels. Knowing you can get more rewards from curating whale's posts can make it hard to consider minnows and I've seen some great posts get ignored (particularly art). I've even tried resteeming a few but I'm not powerful enough for that to make much of a difference. When I submit a minnow's post to curie and it gets accepted I feel good knowing they at least they got rewarded for that work but there should be a more consistent relationship between quality and rewards (for minnows, dolphins, orcas and whales alike).

Totally true, that is why if we al get to the same train of thought of this post, quality will get rewarded sonner or later. I know, It needs more than just a few users to make a change, but If we manage to get more people involved in this idea then we are up to bigger things!

What I'd like to do (but don't have the technical skills to accomplish yet) is create another curation guild like curie. Steemit is growing quickly enough that it wouldn't be a competitor, it would just be another group with a similar purpose. The more functional curation guilds we have the fewer high quality posts would slip through the cracks.

There is a lot of curation guilds that do kind of what curie does. For example, in Spanish we have the curator @cervates and @spanish-trail they both dedicate fully to curate quality content in spanish. Maybe you could create your own country´s trail, where are you from?

I'm Trinidadian but there aren't enough of us on Steemit for that to make sense yet. I've seen some of the other guilds but I'm less sure of how they operate. I'll do some more research and see where best i fit in or if I really should start a new one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46