Steemit Fork: Condenser You have just been forked!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit website is great, but can be a lot better.

That's why I am forking it!

steemit-condenser-github.png

Steemit Condenser is the Github repository for the Steemit website, made on top of React.js and Redux.

As everything with Steem, this website is Open Source, allowing every developer to contribute and bring new/improved features.

Steemit is great but it's missing a lot.

That's why I have just forked it here: https://github.com/diegopucci/condenser

I am going to work on this fork with the aim to bring improvements and bug fixes into the Steemit website and enhance the overall quality and scalability of the frontend code.

If you want to follow the development of this fork just watch it on Github: https://github.com/diegopucci/condenser

I Want Your Ideas!

I would love to hear from you how the Steemit ecosystem can be improved. What's missing? What could be improved?

I'll start bringing my ideas:

  • Search: The Google Custom search it's good but I would love to see some basic/advanced filters.
  • Tags: The whole tagging system can be improved. Adding the ability to search the tags could be a plus. Suggesting existing tags in the post creation can be helpful.
  • Creating posts: Implementing the Markdown styling guide into the editor interactively.
  • Managing posts: A way to organise posts into user generated categories on the profile page.

we-want-your-ideas.jpg

Who am I?

11 years Senior Software Architect - Javascript Full Stack Developer, focused on ES6, React.js, Redux, TypeScript, Node.js, and DevOps.

Follow me on Steemit: https://steemit.com/@elear
Add me on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/puccidiego/

Sort:  

Congratulations @elear! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good luck, the tasks your taking on are huge! How do you plan to do search? Will you be using elasticsearch or solr? Have you seen http://asksteem.com?

@codewithcheese the search is very hard task to achieve. Asksteem is indeed a great project but I believe we really need a search inside Steemit. There are also implications in using a centralised search database that will have to be sorted out.

I'm also working my way through the condenser code. Do you want to compare notes as we go?

Sure @codewithcheese! that would be great. I am also looking into busy.org atm

Great you can contact me on https://steemit.chat/ under the same username

Right now we are only able to tag in English. I upload content in Korean and English so if I could tag in Korean, I could potentially reach more people.
btw I just upvoted and followed you

Is the amazing utopian.io a fork of condenser?

I resteemed this post a while back so that I could pin it and come back to suggest adding an escrow transaction UI to condenser. The feature already exists on the blockchain itself. I wrote about the feature and its potential benefits last month:

https://steemit.com/steem/@mkdouglas/proposal-how-steem-escrow-transactions-would-facilitate-trade-currency-exchange-and-lending-using-only-fiat-currencies-and-the-steem-blockchain-so-as-to-bypass-bitcoin-as-a-gateway-cryptocurrency-increase-the-number-of-active-steem-users-and-increase-the-

Four month ago, I had written another proposal for developing SteemConnect into a WordPress plugin:

https://steemit.com/wordpress/@mkdouglas/proposal-why-steem-blockchain-needs-steemconnect-as-a-wordpress-plugin

Can the above posts work as Ideas on utopian.io?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61