I had a special visitor to my office this morning. What wildlife runs wild in your town?

in #steemit7 years ago

I had a special visitor stop by my office this morning. We have a flock of about a dozen turkeys that occasionally troops by the office and this morning my business partner was able to get a pretty good picture of this hen as she searched for breakfast.

Nature in the big City.jpg

Omaha is famous for its zoo, but I am amazed at the wildlife that you can spot right here in the middle of town. A young red fox ran past my window twice in the last three weeks but wasn't fast enough to catch a picture of him. I run into deer almost every day when I exercise on an urban trail, a mountain lion got hit by a car a few blocks from our home within the last year, and families keep having pets disappear due to coyotes in the middle of town.

Do you have any wild creatures running around your city/town?

Sort:  

I don't know if it's considered wild, but I often see goose, swan, ducks, deers and bunnies on the road or street. It's so nice right? It's a privilege to spot those beautiful creatures now and then. Lovely picture!

If it doesn't eat out of bowl in your kitchen and curl up at the foot of your bed to sleep, then I would count it as wild. It is really fun to see them, especially in unexpected places. I also see a pair of swans at the lake where I walk.

Haha true, they definitely are not pets.

Lots!! I live in NW Pennsylvania so we have an abundance... I have an article on a baby raccoon the nieghbor adopted. That's a good sized turkey. I'll post a flock I took on the way to work one of these days.

Fun to live next to nature. Do cuddly baby raccoons turn into friendly, cuddly adult raccoons or do they get wild and mean as they mature?

They get mean so they aren't good pets and one guy had one that was cuddly but one day it just turned wild and mean. I don't think they were intended to domesticate.

I believe it. They are cute when they are little, but I've never met an adult raccoon that wanted a hug.

The other neighbor raised a cub and let it go right outside. He got into everything and eventually someone had to put him down. Never release by homes!

Nice picture, I'm following you now.

Congratulations @eightyyroldself! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83