Stop Commenting for the Upvote.

in #steemit7 years ago

U5dttvuayBCqH9WJk6CaVocLtMgTzXA_1680x8400.png

People, people, people. Don't think I don't see you there in the comments section of a "trending" post, flattering without meaning, saying without reading, pasting without being.

Why? Because you're trying for the upvote.

Shallow comments from shallow readings, a single glanced loanword from the text, dropped into your comment like a dingleberry on a plate - why?

Because you're trying for the upvote.

Deeper comments with tentatively-chosen words, teeth shining false, afraid to offend.

Because you're trying for the upvote.

Brothers and sisters, I get it. The money incentive has a way of shifting your footing, changing your view of things, adding a kind of frantic, almost-desperate tinge to the proceedings.

We need to take a step back and remember when comments didn't pay, when you could and would read the post, take an interest and say what you feel. Why?

Because that's how you get the upvote.






... He said hypocritically, hoping for upvotes.

Steemit Animated Thingy - U5dtAVjBETmqw1AAbnbU32TA7BXiwUk.gif

Sort:  

This is to me one of the realest post I have come across on steemit, think most people are lazy with high expectation when we should just connect and have fun.

Heheheehhe -- thank you. If we just connect, talk about topics that actually interest us, then we will find ourselves saying things worthy of upvote in a natural and unforced manner.

Yessss... 🙏🙏🙏

Glad you liked it :D

Interesting...I had my ups and downs with the how and why to upvote , resteem and reply. I am still not sure what happens when I do this or that. Still, I have found some interesting posts I am following just as I do on FB. I also believe that some in this and other online communities will use their power sometimes steem power to encourage a positive change in this world and see what great potential of power the crypto world has. - Her we can concentrate on supporting what is necessary to happen now like cleaning the oceans helping people to remain in their homelands instead of having to leave to go into modern slavery and protecting our nature by supporting the Amerindians in the Brazilian jungle by buying trees for them. Here is space for positive thinking and action. I hope others fee the same way too.

Yes, one thing about Steemit is the almost relentless positivity found here. I'm generally a pretty cynical fellow but I gotta say, I am being won over. The potential is so great, the possibilities so exciting, we can't help but get hyped up on doing the best we can to build the community and influence the world in an uplifting fashion.

@kathill and @edumurphy, hugs to both of you, as I discover, your comments... Two weeks later! 🤷‍♀️💞

Ohhhh do not be fooled by us, commenters on clever posts, who find it easier to "continue" the conversation, rather than bring on "the topic" in a post ourselves.

Also, please remember :

  • that some of us have no idea yet on how the "pay-out" or "upvotes" actually work to say the truth, and just "react" for the sake of "agreeing with the poster". Just as one would on the old social platforms. Add the mysteries of the blockchain and the steemit algorythms which change at times, as well as the "robots" Who seem to have a mind of their own... Whom we encounter here in the comments...
  • that some of us also believe that "greed" is "old world" and a failing system! To give people The Benefit Of The Doubt is a "new world" frame of mind. Let's do it ❣️

Learning while practising, we are all beginners at one stage, and as a rule... "we don't know what we don't know" 🤷‍♀️

Steeming Hugs

commenters on clever posts, who find it easier to "continue" the conversation, rather than bring on "the topic" in a post ourselves.

Hahahahahahah -- I think we might have been separated at birth because -- yeah. That 👆👆👆👆

My brain is always on fire with cleverness when it's time to comment on someone else's work. Facile and fluid with words and bon mots and turns of phrase, the delicate riposte, the gleeful vulturine pop culture reference ... but when it's time to make a post of my own, it dries up like a rain puddle in the Sahara.

As for the pay-outs, it will all start to make sense soon. You're doing exactly what you need to be doing. You might want to look into Discord chat to find people with similar interests. I am slowly discovering the ins and outs and, as I do, I will share with all and sundry.

Ignore the robots. You'll prefer it that way and they by definition won't care.


You are of course completely correct. My post was both facetious and, as I acknowledged at the end, wholly hypocritical :D

Hahaha I read all about "me" in your comment reply. Same, same, same...
If I told you of the number of "pieces" I have been writing in my mind, as I multi-task in my days and more so than ever or ever since I discovered steemit.
How I wish I could find more time to comitting to the keyboard and "writing" to my heart's content.
It will come... 😌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64