a-a-a : Is he a follower of yours?

in #steemit7 years ago

ban hammer.jpg

https://steemit.com/@a-a-a
I honestly don't know why this behavior is allowed to continue for so long.

User:a-a-a
Joined:September 2017

(picks a username that gets him at the top of everyone's followers list)

14217 followers883 posts181672 following

Apparently, if you just follow literally every single person you can find, about 8% of people will auto-follow back. These 8% of people are nice people. They are noobs that have no idea how this site is supposed to work.


noobnoob.jpg

Fortunately, yesterday someone flagged all his stuff and his reputation is now -1. But that didn't stop him from playing the victim:

My Reputation Is (-1) Because Someone Started Flagging All My Posts. May I Ask You To Do A Favor For Me Please? Will You Upvote My Last Ten Or More Posts To Help My Reputation Go Back Up? Thanks.

This got him resounding support. So many people are like, "OMG why would they do this to you?" Only one thread called him out, and I was part of it. If you check his feed, every post has a good amount of upvotes, but on average each upvote is worth less than one SBD penny. This guy has created a cult of bottom feeder upvoters who don't know any better. Not... cool... guy...

Should we ban a-a-a? Probably, but first, he's actually done some valuable work for us. We, as a community, should be reaching out to a-a-a's followers and upvoters and letting them know that this is not how the site should operate. The sad thing is, is that this guy is small potatoes. There are so many other people on this site that are gaming this blockchain for tens of thousands of dollars consistently. However, I'm out of the loop because I've only been here a week.

In my next posts I'll be discussing my idea for trials by jury more in depth and possibly discussing reCAPTCHA as an option to stop bots, auto-following, auto-upvoting, curation trains, etc etc.

Sort:  

That’s crazy. Following 180,000 lol. I feel bad following over 300 interesting people with only 172 who’ve added me in total at the end of 2017.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70