You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sharing Copyrighted Video Material on DTube Could Put Steemit's Future At Risk and Devalue STEEM.. My Thoughts - Having Worked In This Arena For a Decade.

in #steemit7 years ago

@ura-soul Very important topic to be discussed. Steemit and Dtube should not turn into copyright quagmires. Self policing is important in order to maintain/increase the value of these platforms.

Sort:  

Coming from Reddit where people upvote stuff merely on feeling and it's hard to get a herd mentality towards policing, especially in a platform that spouts censorship free whenever it can. I agree it's necessary but I also see how hard it will be to accomplish.

I want to upload a ton of old video clips I collected since the late 90s but since I didn't create them I feel disinclined to post them. If I don't will someone else just do it anyways?

I would choose to disallow money for the video if given the option (perhaps it exists?) Of course we are back to the other point where someone else might not be so thoughtful and repost it anyways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60