You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @ned - are we on the verge of a Steemtrain wreck? Answer NO - BUT THERE ARE STILL VALID CONCERNS

in #steemit7 years ago

If he retracted it then we wouldn't see your response. I saw the original elfspice post and had been planning to look into it as it is not something I (many of us) have researched and would have any authoritative information on. Questions need to be asked so answers can be provided. Also one of the great things about steem is the transparency. Too many things occur outside of it that cannot be tracked, documented, etc. Talking about problems outside of the blockchain rather than on it seems like a step in the wrong direction.

I do thank you for your response. I actually believe someone addressing the elfspice post without ad hominem attacks and such and just providing us a blow by blow of why the points are not an issue would be a valuable post at this time. Saying "don't worry, they can't run a node, and don't know what they are talking about" is an appeal to authority. You didn't say those exact words I am paraphrasing. Such statements can reduce confidence in your response. The rest of the information was welcome though, and I for more would be interested in MORE information.

Sort:  

All of the information I'm aware of is within my response. I could have made an objective list, but I'm a human being and delight in creative communication. But I'll make that list just for you -

  1. Steem is demanding on I/O resources, as you'd expect of the most used blockchain on the planet. Still, it runs fine on a basic server, as gtg demonstrated below.
  2. There are several nodes running; a new witness netuoso who joined last week got a full RPC node up and running within hours. Anyone with basic competence and appropriate hardware can get one running.
  3. The developers are working actively on scalability solutions.
  4. There's no need for panic. Steem is growing exponentially - all's well.

Of course, all of this information was covered in my original reply.

That was not my point at all. You recommended the person retract their post. If he were to do that people would not see your reply. That was my point.

I see what you mean. To clarify, my intention wasn't to recommend the OP to delete their post entirely. In hindsight, I should have worded it better. I was going for the traditional meaning of retract, i.e. "withdraw statements as untrue and unjustified"; rather than removing it entirely. My reply would still have stood, with enough context to give it meaning. That worked, this post stands a lot more balanced than before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97