Sort:  

I'm not so sure on the reputation point. It's all very well for people who just want to come here to share fun holiday pictures and so on, or discuss technical things, but if you want to engage in serious debate (as I do) it's a bit of a different situation. Many of the refugees from FB and Twit come here hoping for a place where they can freely speak their mind.

I've seen quite a few instances where people try the platform, hit these kinds of problems and then stop posting. hoopatang and david michael (who's post I shared above) are just two instances of this. They are going to go elsewhere and talk about it, I feel pretty sure of that.

The last post that hoopatang commented on was this one (2 years ago):

When Concerning Steemit, I've Come To Realize ... I'm Too Old For This

Quote:

During my heyday, people were able to speak their mind, so long as they did so with respect and allowed others to voice their opinion as well. Everyone was different, and that's what made each individual interesting. Nowadays, it seems most people just want to be like everyone else and fit in. Don't rock the boat, else you won't get your reward! It's like being in a Kindergarten class full of 20-30 somethings.

I suppose at least your posts will still remain on the blockchain even if they are flagged, but you may not be able to earn any income from writing about anything controversial and your posts may never reach the trending page, unless you can find some sponsors rich in Steem Power. It's still interesting me though, I will stick with it for a time at least and see how I get on.

This has been the case since steemit began. The thing is there still is nowhere like steemit. Until there is they can go somewhere else, but it won't be the same. Myself and others have said the same things for years and we've even seen people leave that wish they would have stuck it out. I do think once there is a decent competitor that people will likely gravitate towards it, but at this point that hasn't really been the case.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67