You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on HF20, Scaling Back My Negativity, and Remaining Skeptically Hopeful. (WTF was that!?)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

After spending yesterday thinking about the last month on steemit i feel its not what i thought it was and probably not the site to invest in.
Reading about witness's having to tow the party line or be removed and also unknown accounts having sway with decision making (that account @freedom thought to belong to the owner) then how can they call this place decentralised.
There will definitely be no more investment in this site with my accounts while i decide what is my next move.
I enjoy this site and spend many hours reading and voting. But as for a site to invest money into when my investment can be locked and frozen such as the last 2 episodes on the site. It reminds me of been locked into my investments in 1987 when banks and investment houses just switched off their phones.
My trust of this site and its goals are starting to wane.

Maybe i see the light or maybe i'm just pissed... time will tell

Sort:  

THANK YOU. I am not an investor like yourself, as such, but often consider folks in your position. A platform that goes offline four hours on end unpredictably is uncomfortable enough for me, a blogger who has been here over two years trying to build SP and enjoying the community. I can only imagine how investors must feel.

I am unaware of witnesses having to tow the party line, maybe. Could you elaborate? On a whole, though, I really resonate with what you are saying about decentralization. The Steemit.com platform is one thing, but now even the chain itself seems to be under very centralized and arbitrary control.

I feel disappointed. Like you, I am waiting to see what will happen, but more and more this site starts to resemble a kind of MLM/pyramid scheme junk heap. I feel for the dedicated Dapp creators trying to build on the chain, as well.

Thanks for the quick reply.. I must have read 30 posts yesterday on hf20 and over 100 comments on each. But i have managed to fine the thread that got me concerned.

https://steemit.com/clusterfork/@d-pend/re-berniesanders-hardfork-successful-hardfork-complete-yep-20180926t161210893z

and the post lower down from @ats-david that mentions a super majority and further down where @nationalpark mentions about @freedom voting for witness's

this is the comment from @nationalpark

https://steemit.com/clusterfork/@nationalpark/re-d-pend-re-whatsup-re-d-pend-re-berniesanders-hardfork-successful-hardfork-complete-yep-20180927t031447476z

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57