Building a Castle on Weak Foundations

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Many years ago, I was playing with my little cousin around the bricks that our grandfather prepared to build some walls around his garden...
My cousin wanted me to build a castle for him. I improvised something using those bricks and some planks. Then my cousin told me that he wants to have a firmer castle that will endure through the ages. Then I started explaining him about building techniques and I told him that big walls around the castle are nothing if the foundations are not good.

Only with strong foundations, the castle will be able to stand strong.

This could be technically correct but today I would offer some different answers to my cousin.

The castle stands on the people! It depends on the people!

Ordinary people, peasants and poor citizens. They were majority in feudal society. When you are watching a historical movie in which few knights defend a medieval castle from a thousands of enemy soldiers, they actually defend important strategic positions or they protect simple people inside the walls. Empty and cold walls are nothing valuable to defend.

But in the mind of a medieval knight, more important than the people were kings, noblemen and persons that were highly positioned in church.

And those were only 1% of the society. The rest 99% were peasants and slaves.

These are the reasons why feudalism didn't work... You can't build a kingdom on the back spine of weak and poor people. Those foundations cannot hold the walls for rich and powerful lords and ladies! Actually, those noblemen should be the foundations for supporting the people.

So, were those castles built to protect the people or to keep those noblemen safe?


And now I have to draw the line and compare this castle with Steemit.

Steemit is a social media platform where everyone gets paid for creating and curating content.

This is the question: was Steemit created for bloggers or for some elite minority to multiple their money? I don't want to criticize anyone but recently the bloggers are on the bottom of the Steemit pyramid.

I respect developers, they do awesome job here and of course they have to be payed for that. I also respect witnesses, this wouldn't be possible without them. Whales and dolphins are those who make us happy from time to time.

All of them are hard workers and you have to appreciate that!

The only problem is that I can't find a proper blog post on the trending page.

A post that is not about Steemit or development!

Steemit is the most popular topic on Steemit. But without bloggers it becomes an empty and cold castle. Without bloggers, Steemit will not need many developers, witnesses and whales. Without strong foundation, the castle could collapse!
Bloggers get the lowest rewards on Steemit and that makes it's foundations weak.

When bloggers get used to that, their content will become less quality. My own posts lately became shorter and less funny because I don't have some real support. But I still do it every day because I have awesome followers. And they have awesome posts with very low rewards.

Something has to change if Steemit wants to attract new users.

I started @whysoserious idea and I thought to empower @whysoserious account with rewards from my own posts. But 10 days ago, when I started with it, my rewards reduced to 5-6$ daily and I can't do much with that.

So, my own benefits are not important to me anymore.

I did all I did to make something move and also to help others which is really difficult from my position. I would like to support but with what? I really believe in my @whysoserious project but I don't have any funds to invest in it. Since being only blogger is not attractive to greasy voters, I'll probably have to power down a week or two to invest in @whysoserious. I already powered down before and it is not a nice feeling but this situation forces me to sacrifice. At least all my funds will stay on Steemit and Steemit bloggers will have some use of it.


Thank you for having nerves to read this!

logo

Sort:  

This Post will show you where All the Keys are.
Checkout how many up votes there. Stop giving your keys to them!

https://steemit.com/steemvoter/@steemvoter/steemvoter-and-minnowbooster-are-joining-forces

Thanks

You need to give it a long enough bit of persistence but when it's time to cut loss you have to cut loss. For this project, I think it's still in infancy. You need to start looking at how to operationalize some productivity. Even @happydolphin needs to do things efficiently. I look at it for close to a couple of months before I started a project which I thought I can carry on longer.
All the best. :-)

Thank you, @ace108! Your support means something to me.

You're welcome

Good

I do what I can with what I have to support you... but I think you know that already ;-)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 20 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks, human!

Strong post from a Strong Man.

Yes, I totally get what your saying. I can see why some people have given it up. I'm here now but see some disturbing things but there are some really good people here that do make me want to stay. I love your #whysoserious by the way. = )

Thank you, I appreciate this

Your posting interesting, I got your idea. I will continue later to read in my free time ;)

Yeah.. mostly I do not find proper bloggers on trending page... I think steemit is a game. Game how to get upvote... ha..ha.. :)

Yes it is difficult to continue to build on Steemit, from the ground up... but many here have (I know I am one of them as my first posts got nothing). So I continued building up to a dolphin,never entering any of my own funds.

Yes I then too Steem out to purchase other digital assets and have done very well with them.

  • Now is the effort worth staying?
  • Should I cash out as the markets are heating up (for easier gain)?
  • Is Steemit a lifestyle or career?
  • Or is Steemit a tool?

If it is a career, got all out... post 5 times a day (even if it is a nothing of value post as many do), or re-steem the bejeepers out of anything you can.

If it is a tool, then use it and your time accordingly... you can always return and build anytime you wish.

If and when the SMT's come out, it will be a huge turn point... however if you will be using your Steem to purchase them... well see above.

Of course I will stay but more actively from @whysoserious

Admire you for speaking out @dumar022. Will support you the best I can. Maybe we need impartial judges to up-vote good content. Have only "Bots," backed by whale contributions, that specialize in certain categories or subjects to up vote.

Thanks for support

So true. I can totally relate as i am in the same position. Tried so hard to still continue to blog and share. But the reward is not encouraging. I supposed thats why many gave up. I hope you will keep going and be positive.
Thanks for sharing.
@jackpot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64623.89
ETH 3513.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46