You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Basketball Journey - "Happiness hidden within the struggle"

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Thank you, Duro, for directing me here. This is, indeed a very amazing journey that you have been on. I have said this before in your posts, but, now more than ever it is relevant. Things happen that are not always pleasant in life. Nobody has a perfect life. Live it. Love it. Life is not the destination we are looking for. It is always about the journey. If it doesn't turn out the way we want, is it a waste?

The answer is no. It is never a waste to go through these experiences. We all want to accomplish things in our life. But, don't forget to enjoy the journey getting there.

Make sure the lesson has not been lost on you

I must say that I broke my distal fibula while running through the forest this winter. I ran off the path and about five minutes in, I ran through a pile of leaves and my foot went about two feet into a hole that was dug. I think someone took a tree out the forest! I have to say that it is the first time I have ever broken anything major and it set me back for all of the winter as I wasn't allowed to put weight on it, not even on crutches. The healing process was slow and at time agonizing.

My point is that it takes a certain mentality to work through your injuries the way that you did. It takes strength and yes, it takes courage. I say courage because you could have very well failed at this and made your injuries worse by pushing forward. Your own history with how you grew up helped make you focus on getting to where you wanted to be.

A winner in your own eyes, a personal goal

You continue to pique my interest, wondering where your journey will take you and the map that you will be using to get to that destination. I am unsure if you have a contract for next year or when the season will start in Italy. In the US, as you know, our season is soon!

I wish you much luck and hope that you are caring for your muscles with the various tears and abuse. But, as a fitness buff, I am sure that is one of the things that you are concentrating on. My best to your continued work on your familial house and I look forward to seeing the progress. So much more rewarding to enjoy your time with your dad because those are the times you will always remember. Building his dream back up. That has to make you feel so good inside, not for the heroics in it, but, that you can reinstate his dream that lay unfinished due to other circumstances in life.

Haste makes waste

Take your time. Enjoy. Good things come to those that wait. Much, much luck in your adventure called life. I patiently await my next one as I wait for yours to continue. :) You may have to repost this as I can no longer Resteem it and I believe it is an important part of who you are and why. Just a thought.

Vidimo se kasnije!

Sort:  

It is never a waste. I agree 100%. Even when I "failed" and went home 3-4 years ago it was not a waste. Life was toughening me up for this year and to that moment of bliss. I know it now.

I can't tell you I enjoyed the journey this basketball season because it was going from one challenge to another and to another. I left many parts out of the story because I was afraid of it being too long. It is hard to enjoy the journey in that way. But, what I can tell you those 5 minutes, in the end, made it all worth for me. Simply an incredible feeling of joy and accomplishment.

I could off made all my injuries worse yes. But, it just decided to trust my gut this time, and it was telling me to keep pushing. I decided to trust that feeling. It is what carried me through all of this. Some of the family members told me I am crazy to keep going, but I trusted myself more.

I still have not signed for another club. There were offers, but I did not have a good feeling about them so I turned them down. My gut feeling was not wrong this last year, and I decide to listen to it again this season. Where I will finish we will see. Who knows? Maybe US. :)

Until then I will be patiently waiting, and restoring our house with my dad. Either way, it is time well spent. :)

I will consider reposting it in a month or two after I can reach a bigger audience.

Thank you again, Denis, for writing such a thoughtful and amazing comment. Plus for the words of encouragement and wisdom. It is always great to hear other people opinion. It gives me a different perspective on how to look at my story.

Have an amazing day. :)

P.S I love your Croatian. Vidimo se kasnije as well. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60716.58
ETH 3369.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48