The need for story-chains on steemit - revisitedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

image.png

People keep asking what kind of Steemit we are building. We are a community of writers. Of artists. Of musicians. Of creatives. With a strong dose of libertarianism thrown in (not my cup of tea, but hi to all libertarians out there!).

But our contribution to building our great new blockchain-based social media platform can be more than the pieces we post.

We can, and I believe we should, contribute to the architecture of Steemit - to help plan the building process.

That's what I want to do.

That's what I am trying to do here.

I have written about this idea before. I have used some of these words (my words) before (Hello cheeta!). But I feel strongly about this. I want to make it happen.

There are loads of awesome, and I mean awesome, contributions on steemit, but I notice that apart from the comments section, you can't respond or build on the ideas within. This is especially problematic because of the imposed 7 day half-life given to each story under the Steemit rules. I am not complaining about this, to the contrary. However all this great material gets buried under the weight and churn of new material coming up behind.

But there is a solution. The idea is simple, and I have adopted the Celtic knot to symolise it: introduce the ability to tie (or chain, or knot) stories to each other (maybe call it a story-chain, or story-knot). This would allow for more developed thinking along a line of argument - perhaps even introducing a 'call-and-response' type relationship between steemers (?) whereby the original pieces could be tracked back to through the chain, allowing for a more coherent stream of ideas and collaborations than is now available through the comment section alone.

The same rules would apply regarding rewards and seven day limits etc.

It could be peer-peer, or a single steemer could write a series of connected pieces, without needing to c&p the links back to each of the sources.

I can imagine this becoming a really powerful innovation over time that would enable steemit to become not just a blog site, but a creative knowledge bank. The Steemit community could literally track ideas that were tied into a particular knot back over time to follow the thread, to pick up on a lost idea, to find and celebrate the source!

If you like the idea, lets get behind it! Please re-steem and talk to me about how we can make it happen!

Celtic knot courtesy of pixabay.com

image.png

Sort:  

This post gets a 0.15 % upvote thanks to @ausbitbank - Hail Eris !

@drwom got you a $1.49 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@drwom got you a $1.49 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57730.16
ETH 2445.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34