How an idea like Steemit could change the entire internetsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Where others tend to say it's impossible, an utopian dream, nothing more then a fantasy, I incline to look what if. Instead of narrowing down its complications and limitations questioning whether it is achievable or not in this current reality I ask myself - is it possible? By taking the current conditions, putting them in a box, sliding it aside and looking upon the concept of the idea itself.

Now I can be a total pessimist, in fact I would say its my greatest quality and always see what is wrong instead of right. However I don't like to label things on their surroundings. The internet is a good example of this, no one would have said in the 80s, "Hey let's buy a pc and have a chat with other people all around the world and play video games together!" Computers weren't a commodity yet, neither was there a proper infastructure for the internet itself. Except for some innovators and entrepreneurs who were willing to take a risk no one could have predicted where we are today.

We currently live in an age where the internet is taking an extensive role in our daily life. It is going in such a rapid pace we can barely keep up with its implications. And with current big corporations like google, youtube and facebook ruling the world wide web we have to ask ourselfs if we like in which direction it's heading. With less privacy, censorship, targeted advertising and profit being made on the users content our say into what is happening with our online network seems to be getting less by the day.

What interests me the most on all of this is it's social ramifications and part of what I am about to say next is theoretical. Due to the fact the platforms we use are owned by profit driven companies our behaviour is heavily influenced towards a negative attitude. Both towards each other aswell as on an individual level. Content creators feel discouraged seeing their hard works being cut off on earnings, censored and stolen as a means to make a quick buck called freebooting. Quantity often surpasses quality through clickbaits, search engines and a community with less regard. Furthermore users are more tempted to vote, comment and troll with lower concern as there is no benefit in it for them.

Now the basic concept of Steemit gives everyone importance. Every action from voting, commenting to publishing has potential rewards. This gives both the creator as the participant a sense of involvement and responsibility as of who deserves a reward for their efforts. Aswell as eridicating most of the trolls and scammers as a result of a healthy community whose morals have become sincere and coordinated towards those that try to cause harm. Additionally there is no company regulating the rules meaning the power lays by its users and decisions regarding privacy, censorship, advertisement and wealth distribution are made on terms by the majority.

www123.png

So, what do you think, is the idea on which Steemit is founded the future of a democratic internet?

Sort:  

Well said. Resteemed.

Thanks a lot :D also for all the upvotes, its tough for newbies like me out here to be seen ;)

I tend to try to up vote engagement. I do less than I'd like simply to keep from completely draining my voting power.

I was a newbie at one point too. It didn't come easy. I wrote and wrote and wrote. Sometimes I'd literally make $0. Other times I'd do okay. I actually think payments are a little better for newbies than when I started. I don't see too many $0 posts.

Only been here a week so far but seen a lot of helpful iniatives around, this community is just so friendly in general. In fact, I haven't gotten a single negative comment so far. Thanks for being a part of it, will follow u just for future conversations =)

My pleasure. Negative experiences do happen here, fortunately they are pretty rare at the moment.

Keep STEEM N ON @droucil

You have been PROMOTED FREE for using the "free" TAG (hashtag)

https://steemit.com/promoted/free

Great Article. I believe that Steemit also can be the future of a democratic internet.
It reminds me of a post https://steemit.com/video/@tomgriffioen/what-a-day-on-steemit-this-reminds-me-of-1999-the-mobile-phone-funny-video

Crazy that people didn't know what the influence was of a mobile phone! haha crazy

good article, thanks for sharing, reetweted :)

Thank you! :)

I am a very new user of steemit and this will be the first platform that i use to make content. I will give a part of myself to this because i am ready too. I might also get paid for my content as well, which is just a bonus. This platform to me has the potential to deliver what i have to say without censorship. I want to express my ideas and i have found a medium in which to really share them in. So far it seems that my target audience is hear in this platform and i couldn't be happier about it!

Welcome fellow newbie :) I feel the same way, only made some poetry before and written a few reviews on video games. But this platform is what truely brings out my potential to write on the things that matter most to me.

Steemit is just amazing as I can see. The beauty of it is your work gets compensated for the content and value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48