You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help Me Learn To Use Steemit Properly

in #steemit6 years ago

Hello, this is an amazing idea. I came here few days ago and I am still quite confused. I'd like to know what does "witness" mean or how contests work :) Hope I 'll find someone to explain this little amazing (but techy) thing :)

Sort:  
  1. A Witness is basically a computer/server with a Steem account that verifies the transactions on the blockchain. It's similar to bitcoin mining. People want to be voted as a witness because you can make $$. It takes a LOT of votes to become a witness - I wouldn't worry about it too much right now.

  2. Contests are created/run by other steem users. They can be a bit cheesy as most people only run these contests to get more followers/votes... that's why they always ask you to resteem/follow/vote etc. be weary of wasting your time with contests if it just looks like the person is looking for a payday

Oh, thank you very much for such a long and useful comment :) you made my day :)

Hey @dreamdiary, I followed you and looking forward to exchanging interactions with you in 2018. Thank you for coming back to me and engaging in this post.

Thank U for posting this topic one more time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55