Using Steemit As A Supportive Community

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hi Guys,

I have been putting a great deal of thought into how to create a community with the people that I work with. I have created Facebook groups and played around with forums but I now feel that Steemit can be the perfect place to offer support.

So what kind of support am I talking about?

Lets face it, we are all challenged time to time through life's situations, and we all cope and move through these challenges in our own unique way. Some will grow and succeed through their challenges and other may crumble and self destruct.

I feel that what sets those who are able to succeed and those who spiral deep into a self created hell apart is the amount of support we receive (not all of the time but a large amount of the time). In fact, there is a excellent Ted Talk about heroin users that show how it not the drug that people get addicted to but rather the lack of support that keeps them reliant on heroin to fill that void.

But lets not lose the point of this post as it is not about addiction.

My question is this: Can we use this Steemit Platform as a community to share and openly express challenges that are present in our lives and support each other through them?

Not all of us are lucky enough to have access to a loving environment, and I believe and feel that we can all provide this service to those who need it.

This does not mean that we have to become therapists over night, but we can listen and just be there to show that we are all in this life together.

I would like to leave you with a quick story.

When I was studying Hypnotherapy my teacher told me about an old woman that came to him for help. She felt depressed and lonely. He scheduled an appointment with her for the next day. On her way out of the door he gave her a hug and told her "everything will be ok" The next day she rang him to cancel her session, and to his shock he replied "did I do something to upset you?" and he was shocked by her reply "no, I don't need to come to see you because I received what I needed. I did not know it at the time but I just needed to be held and told that everything will be ok" The old lady later went on to explain that she did not have access to any kind of support.

I know we cannot hug or have physical contact here on Steemit, but we can offer our virtual support and use this ever growing technology for good.

I would love to hear your comments on this as your feedback may inspire me creating a new Steemit Support Group. I know that there will be people who need professional help, but I am aiming here for something that creates a sense of community and a possibility of professional help if needed.

Much Love

Sort:  

Hey man, I agree with you. It seems that when you wrote these posts, steemit was not this active. But its a bigger community now (though I just joined last night).

Hoping to see you post again

Congratulations @dreamcatcher! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dreamcatcher! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dreamcatcher! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61378.33
ETH 2960.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49