The 3 Minutes Absolute Newb Guide To Using Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Following the recent price surge, I saw a wave of new followers in my account. I went from around 500 to more than 700 in just 2 weeks. A lot of these users are very polite and eager to contribute, but some of them are, how to put it, a little bit "too enthusiastic". For both categories, I thought to put together a very quick guide of how Steemit can be consumed.

Because, mind you, Steemit is not your regular "throw-rubbish-content-and-expect-to-be-paid-pennies" website, but a revolutionary, alive and very peculiar project.

Without further ado:

1. Steemit.com is just one angle

Because, at its core, Steem is just a blockchain, there are many ways in which you can observe it. Steemit.com is just one way to look at it. But there are many others. Here are the angles I'm using:

  • steemdb.com - created by @jesta, steemdb is a very well organized way to explore the blockchain, including information about many other aspects: witnesses, power downs, rewards and so on. I use it almost daily, to check if my witness node is functioning properly

  • eSteem - created by @good-karma, eSteem is a mobile app for interacting with the blockchain. I'm totally recommending it, especially for its notifications system: you get to know when your posts are resteemed or when somebody follows or unfollows you. Works on both iOS and Android

  • steemwhales - created by @heimindanger, it shows detailed rankings of all Steemit users, based on a few filters: steem, account value, steem power. Useful if you want to know exactly how much do you "worth" or what is the potential of the network. Depressing in the beginning, when you see how much some whales have accumulated, but nevertheless motivating.

2. Vote for witnesses

The Steem blockchain is not maintained by a central - or centralized - organization. That means your articles, votes, earnings and withdrawals are not guaranteed by a single entity, like, let's say, Facebook. Instead, there is an ever-changing consortium of witnesses, which are running special servers, called witness nodes, which are taking turns in validating those transactions. You should always, and constantly, vote for witnesses, because the entire network depends on them.

3. Chat is for chatting, not for spamming

Please, pretty please, with sugar on top, use only the promotion designated channels on the steemit chat. Don't post your random cookings endeavors - as tasty as they may be - in the witness or dev channels. That's a guaranteed way to be rejected.


Other than that, it's all common sense folks. You know, like use sun screen, don't drink and drive, don't drive and text.

You know the drill.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Hello @dragosroua

Thanks for sharing this vital guide with the community. And you the first person I am voting for as witness.

@Ogochukwu

Thank you too :)

Pretty much and so sweet explanation to this topic @dragosroua like icing on top. Easy guide, easy step and per cautions as well. Good enough for newb to know, like it.

And oh voted you too!

Thanx, as new person appreciate all new info for steeming. :)

common sense...isn't.

Thanks for the summary, I didnt know there is a chat :)

You're very welcome, Teo. With your travel lifestyle, I see a great future for you here, if you just keep posting....

Thanks for the heads up on the app! When I initially saw it, it didn't seem very useful but the points you bring up will lead me to giving it a shot.

Great job putting this guide together Dragos! Indeed, useful stuff to know... Thanks!

Good stuff @dragosroua

I admit I arrived full of expectations but after spending the past 6 days here, greedily consuming advice from more established Steemians such as yourself and the aforementioned whales, it is clear that more than anything an investment of time, patience and perseverance are key.

I'm not looking to get rich, maybe just a little 'pocket money' on the side - but my primary motivation is to share my 3d work with the community as I learn. And what a community it is! Ever helpful and supportive. I am so glad I found steemit.

Also, I just voted for you as witness

Thanks and I appreciate your approach. Give it a try, see how it bodes with your values, lifestyle and skills. If there's a match, then the rewards - in time - are really, really significant.

Thanks for the summary.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $24.04 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 30 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47