Steem.Supply Update: Easter Eggs All Over The Place

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Since my latest attempt of adding a few Easter Eggs to steem.supply was so successful, I decided to take it even further. So I coded a full Easter Egg platform implementation, one that could (hopefully) be used in future projects, or, who knows, even implemented as a standalone application of its own.

Here's what it looks like:


Screen Shot 2017-08-17 at 7.23.55 PM.png


Except that under the heading: "You found an Easter Egg!" you should find the actual Easter Egg question.

How do you find them? By carefully inspecting elements in the page, clicking around, hovering with the mouse, you know, like in a real treasure hunt...

I think this time I made the whole story a bit more difficult to game, but since it's done via JavaScript, nothing can be really hidden from the user. But if you do find how I did it in the code (which, again, shouldn't be that hard if you're a coder) it means that you have way more time on your hands.

What happens when you find an Easter Egg? Well, you come back here and post your answer in the comments. The first 5 people who are doing this are getting rewarded with a full upsteem from me.

I planted a few eggs, but each one is valid only for a specific day. So for the next 4 days or so, you should go around and try to find the hidden one. You will be able to post your answer once the post about the day's egg has been published.

Please, do not post screenshots of the Easter Eggs, or the question itself. Give a fair chance to other people to play as well.

Good luck!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

In that amount of time, I think the platform will have 2 million users at least. It will start to get into the public eye more as well as there will be a huge demand for steem power racking it up to a high value. Not sure what to be exact but it is going to be way more expensive than it is now. I think we are going to have a GUI change as well

Thanks, it didn't take that long, full upsteem! :)

No, 3 million ! (-:

Firstly thanks for making such a useful site I visit it daily :)

I found one and here goes
I foresee by that time Streemit will be becoming a lot more mainstream and drawing more people away from the established sites I would project between 2 and 3 million users and becoming moe spoken about on various sites and will have grown in number of active users to such a volume it becomes considered along with other major players in the social media realm

Congrats for finding your first egg and full upsteem from me :)

Thanks Kindly truly appreciated, and will be checking each day for the new eggs this is a cool idea :)

Steemit will be one of the top 100 visited websites on the internet maybe even worth more than reddit. The community will be strong and we will have many more application that would allow steemians to provide services to each other and communicate better.

Thanks for playing, full upsteem from me :)

Didn't take too long since I was checking out that error on the site.
My answer: I can see Steemit becoming as popular as reddit, if not more. The number of active users would definitely be around a million. The value of the STEEM token itself would realistically be 5-10 USD. I'm guessing that the most notable changes would be mechanisms to reduce spam and cop/paste.

Thanks for playing, full upsteem :)

With over 3 million users on Steemit and a $3 billion market cap for Steem, it is one of the hottest platforms in the new "Crypto Media" space. Now well into the financial crisis, people are abandoning dollars like yesterday's newpapers and diversifying into their precious metals and precious cryptos portfolios !! Steemit users are as supportive and fun loving as ever and tons of hot new tags and user groups are flourishing around the world! (-: PEACE !!

Congrats for finding your first egg and thanks for playing. Full upsteem :)

I'm gonna be rich because they will make a very good alternative for youtube and all the people will want to be here before this to be big :D

Congrats for finding the Easter Egg, got a full upsteem :) I think this concludes all the 5 upsteems for today, way to go everyone!

Haaaa Nice my first full upsteem :D

I found an easter egg. According to your opinion, what's a Steemit witness?
They are trusted members of the steemit community. They help to run the steemit system. They operating block producing nodes to run 24/7. They also feed steem price information. As I remember they also rewarded by the steem system.

Nice incentive to an already useful tool, @dragosroua. You set that up to display a percentage of the time or every time the page is loaded?

If you set it to show like 33% of the time, you could show a small egg icon or something in random (x,y) position on the page. Then it wouldn't matter if someone viewed the source. Just a thought. :)

<?php $egg = rand(0,2); ?>

<script language="javascript">
var egg = <?=$egg?>;
if (egg == '1')
  // fill div with Easter Egg
else
  // empty egg div
</script>

Just some psuedo-code to illustrate my idea. Not sure if you're already using a PHP file, but would just have to change the extension to .php if not.

nice one, thanks :)

Happy to contribute. :)

This is amazing!!! I've never found an Easter egg before!!! Ive heard about them tons from my gamer buddys but had no idea what they were. I managed to find this one by trying what I thought you had told us to do and it worked :)
I know its over now but I still want to participate, that way I know I completed a hunt :D I see me logging on to this platform in that time, just like I do now with some of the other social media sites, and interacting with friends and people that ive met from all over the world, as well as my close buds and family but in a way that the people who have dedicated time and patience (like me, when I get there), will be able to help guide and even help moderate the platform maybe :) The only things I think thats needed to become a whale is hard work and consistent dedication! I see it as a platform where all sorts of people will be engaged with each other and I see a new platform that is so efficient, well be looking at how we use it now laughing, wondering how far its come since now! Its going to be just an everyday normal exercise to open Steemit, and interact with others and start enjoying writing and getting paid for your daily adventures :D
Thanks for this pal, Its made my afternooon

You still managed to get a half upsteem! Thanks for playing and for your answer and glad I've entertained you :)

Thank you very much for that :D
Off to a baseball game now so that with this news has made for a steller afternoon :D

just saw one 1 minute ago. I was surprised at first but i think its really funny. Love easter egg, in Excel or battlefield everywhere :)

You could as well answering to the question. There's still one spot left for a full upsteem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69