Steem.Supply Stats: Top 10 Countries And Cities - Bucharest Leads The Way (Sorta)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Every few weeks I make a detailed assessment of the traffic of steem.supply. Not only to see if there is a need for a more powerful backend - which I think it will come pretty soon - but also out of pure curiosity. I'm especially interested in the country / city distribution of steem.supply users. Please be aware that these numbers are not necessarily related to the Steemit.com traffic, although some correlations can be made.

Top 10 Countries


Screen Shot 2017-08-13 at 12.25.10 PM.png


Unsurprisingly, US is leading here. But what's interesting is the ascension of Canada (@klye, are you still there? accessing from multiple machines?) and Bulgaria. Romania is stable in top 5, as well as Philippines.

Another interesting metric is the percentage of new visits, which, for Korea, is over 17% and for India is over 18%. That indicates a very high growth rate in those countries (somehow visible at the content level too).

Top 5 Cities

Let's start with this beautiful map, before diving into numbers:


Screen Shot 2017-08-13 at 12.25.28 PM.png


It's nice to see that your app has been seen pretty much all over the (inhabitable) world, isn't it? Ok, plug's over, back to work.


Screen Shot 2017-08-13 at 12.25.34 PM.png


The first position is occupied here by a strange city called "not set". I have no idea where this city is, but people over there seem to be obsessed with their Steemit rewards. Joke aside, I think a part of this information is obfuscated by Google, and a part is simply not available because many people use anonymizer services, like TOR.

Anyways, the first city on the list is Bucharest (and this time around I didn't overused the app, I'm telling you). Second comes Quezon City, which became a constant presence in top 10 cities of steem.supply. In all honesty, I confess I have no idea where Makati and Kryvyi Rih were before, but I did search on Google maps and, to my surprise, I realized Makati is another city in Philippines and Kryvyi Rih is the English name for the city we know here as Krivoi Rog, in Ukraine.

And, to top it all, on the tenth position we have Colombo, the main city of Sri Lanka - a place I always wanted to visit.

Here too, we see a high growth rate for Nigeria (Lagos) and United Kingdom (London) - maybe Brexit didn't work that well, in the end, isn't it?

In all honesty, I'm mesmerized with this diversity and I'm eagerly looking forward for next month, to see what the next statistics batch will bring on.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

Had no idea that the Philippines are that heavily represented on Steemit.

Like I said, these are statistics form steem.supply, not steemit.com, but you may infer that people who are checking out their rewards are also heavy users on steemit.com too. And yes, they're a very strong presence here.

This is fascinating to see the diversity Steemit is acquring across the globe. I see this trend continuing as crypto becomes more main stream and faith in fiat dwindles. I've been anticipating an explosion in India in regards to crypto due to the recent gold/silver/fiat sanctions in that country. Great report and thank you for putting this together. Eye opening to say the least.

Wow, Philippines already ranked 2nd. This is pretty surprising.

On a side note, how do I vote for you as witness?

Nice to see Tunis and Lagos leading Africa :)

I have chosen you as a witness. .

Thank you, appreciate it :)

Great to see the UK is 3rd but it is absolutely dwarfed by the US.
It seems like most Romanians who use the site are from Bucharest which is pretty insane haha
Thanks for all these stats and analytics @dragosroua

There is also quite an active Steemit meetup here, fortnightly for now, but it may become weekly soon.

I like see Bucharest on top city!
I am from Bucharest

steem.supply one of the best steemit tools , thank you so much for this creative project

Tnx for the share. We belgiums need to steem more even the dutch are above us :D

That's an amazing insight data

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86