Save The Date: SMT To Be Released On March 2019 (With A Testnet In January 2019)

in #steemit6 years ago

I was eagerly waiting for the announcement on this one, as I truly believe SMT will be the technology that will massively disrupt the Steem blockchain. A bit later than I thought, and a bit too far in the future than I expected, but at least now we know:

SMT - Smart Media Tokens - will be released on March 2019. Before that, they will be available on a testnet implemented form January 2019.

All this is official news, finally.

Although I was waiting to see this sooner - as one of the projects I've working on, @runcoin, is actually relying on this technology, hence, it's on hold now - but I think the release dates are ok.

First of all, we're in a bear market for more than six months now and this is not the best moment to launch a new platform. You will lose significant exposure and traction, two things that are way cheaper during bull markets.

Second, there must be at least a 3 months buffer between a hardfork and another major release, and Velocity, Hardfork 0.20, will be released in September.

And third, having at least six months for operational stuff, from marketing to human resources, will give companies willing to implement SMTs a very useful buffer to get prepared.

All in all, I remain strongly bullish on STEEM and SMT, even more after this announcement.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

This is going to be very interesting

Finally the annoucement we have all been waiting 2018 for, do you think this will raise the price of steem?

Very happy to read this, it shows a lot of under serious work and thinking by the developers. Expecting what it will bring out actually.

Excellent update form steemit blog today :D finally there we see something great in this bear market

@dragosroua,
Is that 3 months okay to go from Testnet to Livenet? Anyway, this is what we are waiting for! Now it's happening!

Cheers~

I was also waiting for it, after this news steem rise up to 10 %.

The best news I have read since 2018 bear started!

The world is waiting on SMT, it will give birth to several other innovations. About @runcoin, I guess I have to take a look at the blog, so I can know what the project is all about. But judging from the name and your passion, it seems like I have an idea. I will keep my fingers crossed.

This good news came from you and I'm really thrilled to read it. Thanks @dragosroua. Wish you good luck for your #runcoin. SMT is definitely going to open a lot of opportunities for everyone.

Although you have to wait a long time it's good to know that these are incredible changes

I have been waiting for this a long time and so have a lot of other steemians. Thankfully we have a date now because after the hardfork dates came out and no mention of SMT's there had ruffled a lot of feathers.

There are atleast five months till launch but I am really excited for this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59356.21
ETH 2723.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53