You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Days to $0: Those Worthless Old Steemit Posts

in #steemit6 years ago

I am publishing a book in passages here myself and I don't see that as a big problem. Two things need to be considered:

  1. You don't publish in chapters but in small passages (400-600 words), so a reader who finds it after weeks or longer there is a good chance there are fresh passages younger than one week.
  2. As you wrote yourself, you have to publish continuously, so when the first book is finished, you publish the next one. So, over time you can collect a readership.

What I would find more important is the possibility to resteem old content. Currently, that is limited to 7 days as well and the consequence is that old but good content can't be rediscovered.

I will follow you now.

Sort:  

Oustanding points. I didn't realize that about resteeming -- hope you don't mind I added that to my post (with credit given).

I like the idea of a page-by-page approach for building audience, reputation, and the account... The book then becomes a springboard for your Steemit life. It will help you with everything you post afterwards.

For someone who want's to post a book and then sit back, Steemit has big drawbacks.

You got me wondering: How easy is it for people to start reading your book from the beginning? The current view of someone's blog can't be sorted, excludes resteems, or even filter by tags. Furthering this idea that older content doesn't matter.

hope you don't mind I added that to my post (with credit given).

Suit yourself;-)

How easy is it for people to start reading your book from the beginning? The current view of someone's blog can't be sorted, excludes resteems, or even filter by tags. Furthering this idea that older content doesn't matter.

Yeah, this is really crappy here and you do point on something I haven't thought about: Adding a link to the 1st part in every passage.

What I do is adding two links with one to the next passage and one to the prior one. I also use the same title and only vary the number of the passage, so you can find the passages directly via changing the URL (for advanced users..). Problem here is that berniesanders doesn't like me and has flagged my content several times. So I had to post it again, which results in a new URL, but that's I guess a special problem^^ And last but not least there are search engines. My book is a translation and when someone searches for it he finds my translation. This means, you can also search for a specific passage. But of course, that won't work for a stand-alone project.

hey, I just found out that you can get yourself a nice utopian upvote if you make the book open source and put it on github. Not sure if that only counts for translations, but you never know. See here

I know I'm late here lol, but I have started using the coffee Source link at the end of my posts. It gives them a way of checking out your older posts collected in one place at least. Not the best fix, but I'm hoping it helps people catch up on expired posts. Example. https://coffeesource.net/lordsnek/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48