You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation income might be more lucrative than originally thought for small investors

in #steemit8 years ago

This is a great article. A number of small SP holders do very well by guessing on popular posts. But I don't want to give people false hope, either, so I think it's fair to point out that most of the accounts on your 'top curators' list are operated or assisted by bots. Humans can do well, but not that well.

Sort:  

Initially, when votes were piled up on a few posts, curation was hard. Now, with hundreds of posts getting upvoted per day beyond the 10$ range, and 33 (in my current count) beyond the 100$ range, it's far easier.

One simply needs to do 4 things

  1. Upvote good content
  2. Do so while it's early in terms of money (below 1$ if possible - my preference is below 0.10$)
  3. Don't go too early in terms of time (try after 10 minutes)
  4. Keep voting power near 97-98%.

If I did the above, I'd be hitting 40%+.

Curating blindly, for less than 5 minutes per day, without even reading anything, and without optimizing my voting power (could be in the 80's range) or votes (I could be spending some on friends, or in posts with amounts over 5-10-20$ - which is not good for curation potential), fetches me >25%. And I'm like "who is posting? Is he usually making money? Is the title and image nice? Great, upvoted....".

I think the hard part is getting in the 60-70%+ range. 20-30-40%, all these are pretty doable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60883.28
ETH 2401.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63