Steemit, Better for the Soul

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

The battle continues:

  • Steemit Blockchain volume higher than Bitcoin and Ethereum combined! 🙌
  • Facebook revenues up 50%. 🙄

Thumbnail_1524719610880.jpg*1

Steemit is Better for Intellectuals

It's been barely over a week and already Steemit has stolen much of my Facebook time. Like a breath of fresh air after leaving a NYC subway station, steemit relieves some stress related to the leading social media platform. Less congestion, less fake news and best of all less FUD and FOMO.

In regards to Crypto, Facebook is riddled with scams and people selling get rich quick schemes. This creates a negative feeling around the space. No wonder they were forced to block most Cryptocurrency related ads. I don't blame them but getting into the fact that one can promote webcam studios but not legit mining pools is another can of worms that I'll open later.

Steemit is a different space all together. I may not have been on this platform long enough to understand the flag wars and possibly darker sides of Steemit. Not long enough to say this is safe for all content, or that all content here is safe. What I can say is that I've learned more going through trending topics here in days than scurraging for knowledge on Facebook for weeks.

Refreshing my timeline is a kin to opening and closing a refrigerator repeatedly, while high on ganja cookies. Every time you do either, you may see what you want to see but never be satisfied.

Dopamine Hits vs Crypto Rewards

It's commonly known that 'Likes', 'Double Taps' and even 'Up-votes' literally generate dopamine hits to the brain. Further more It's been proven by data scientist that Facebook can control emotions in masses by tweaking their algorithms.

Unfortunately, no one can answer how is this affecting our kids?

facebook-messenger-kids.png*2

Don't get me wrong, I'm human and love a dopamine hit here and there just like anyone else. But, I'm in my mid 30's and have watched the internet grow, took part as the information highway left the boundaries of AOL and now feel we have gone full circle. Back to a controlled space. Controlled is bad .

In my opinion getting an up-vote on Steemit has a similar affect, only the decentralized nature of the platform and crypto rewards help me answer the pivotal question above. I know the content posted here can benefit children and their families globally by rewarding content creators directly now and in the future.

download (1).jpeg*3

This mere fact; people in third world countries or third world situations can add to the collective knowledge, the growing library of innovative ideas on the internet and get rewarded directly ensures that the internet will continue to grow. It means creators can pass down the benefits of their passion like a lifetime cloud mining contract handed over to a 6yr old.

You may ask, how can dopamine hits be better by adding monetary rewards? Well, you cannot pass down Likes, but you can pass down crypto and somehow that makes Steemit better for the soul.

As we say in Jamaica...

"Do it for the love, don't do it for the likes."

Image/Meme Credits:
*1: Me, feel free to use it.
*2: TechCrunch
*3: Google


DQmXnWeEUFhNgRoanPWZ7o1sqWfUyZhjEn2NPcBXg4KFc9t_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📈 7d
BTCBitcoin9274.030$4.95%11.61%
CSCredits0.648$-6.29%25.85%
ETHEthereum661.111$6.83%16.21%

Seems like a good time to plug the @cryptoctopus post that tipped me off to Steemit originally.

Confession of a Facebook Ad Man And Where I Am Moving To Next

Its more relevant now than it was 2 years ago. Mainly because now more people know what Facebook is really all about.

Thanks for commenting and leading me to this gem...

"
What if I came to you with this deal:

You create content for me, for free
You invite all your friends and show your content to them
You give away all of your personal information
If you are a business, you will have to pay to acquire fans and then pay again to reach them
I, in exchange, give you this platform and I make money from the above.
Would you tell me to go f*** myself? Probably. But that's the deal you and I are getting right now. This is screwed up and in 2016, there should be a better way to do this.
"

... Exactly! 😀

☼ Congratulations ☼

Your post was shared in our page Best Resteemed Steemit Posts. Thanks for the quality, keep steeming on and being with us. ☺

nice analysis. Thanks! I use Facebook for family stuff. For all other purposes (eg, learning, ideas, entertainment, etc.) I like Steemit and even Twitter.

Indeed, Twitter is best for keeping up with the devs and service providers... oh, and it's a beast if you ever need a support ticket expedited. I tend to leverage my 11k+ Twitter followers.

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post free to my 35,000+ followers if you reply with the word, "free".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44