Learn the Secrets of How @sirwinchester Got 12,000 Steem Power and You Can Too

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

@SirWinchester

Individuality expressed through creativity is the hallmark of @sirwinchester, a Steemit Dolphin known for high quality content across a variety of topics.  He currently has over 12,000 Steem Power, and is climbing the ladder lighting fast. 


Dolphin Digest recently interviewed @sirwinchester on Rocket Chat.  Check out these amazing insights he has for us on how to be successful on Steem, while staying true to one’s self in the process.


@sirWinchester will be answering questions down in the comment section below, so now is a great chance to learn more about Steemit from one of the experts!


- What is the concept underlying your Steemit Blog? What kind of content do you produce?

I have different categories of content – art, photography, dance, fiction stories, motivation / inspiration, tech, design, science / health.

@KaylinArt


- Do you promote your content actively, or do you rely on quality content to speak for itself?

I do promote on facebook groups and on rocket chat groups, but I don’t send my posts via personal message or ask people to vote.


- If you actively promote your content, what strategies do you use?

Steemit Facebook Groups and Rocket Chat Groups.


- Did you buy any Steem to power up, or have you earned all of it organically by engaging on the platform?

Yes I did.


- What leads you to want to follow someone?

Interesting content, diversity, good language... But mostly, it has to be a topic that interests me. This is obviously personal preference. There are many interesting steemers that I haven’t discovered yet!

- What kind of content do you most like to upvote?

I mostly upvote posts from categories that are similar to my own (art, life, stories, dance, sports, motivation, health, science etc), then I take a look at what the others have written in that category.

- How do you discover exciting new content?

Once in a while I check the “hot“ filter on the steemit categories mentioned above. I rarely click on “new“ because there is just too much unfiltered content, but most posts in “hot“ are interesting. Also, I like to take a look at the hidden gems from @dragonslayer109 or @knozaki2015.

- Do you only upvote content for curation rewards or also content that you think is valuable and want to support?

I actually vote MORE for content that I like / want to support than for curation rewards. I think you should see the upvote as an encouraging handshake or pat on the back, rather than a way to make money.


- What do you like most about Steemit?

Whenever I’m on other social medias, people’s comments are mostly negative. The content that they post is also not very informative. The structure of Steemit motivates people to comment, and they do that mostly in a positive way. Of course sometimes there is criticism too, but constructive criticism is positive as well. Another great thing is the community. In such a short time I have connected with over 50 people from all over the world, and have even met 15 of them in real life. They are all great souls! Also, of course, the content on Steemit is great. I always find myself just reading through some articles – on other platforms, people don’t even write 1% of this interesting content!


- What do you dislike most about Steemit?

Obviously Steemit is still in a Beta phase and many improvements will be done. But the only thing that I dislike is probably that sometimes the site doesn’t work as it should – for example when you go to edit a post, it automatically shows you the “editor“ view. But when you change some content then, and click on HTML, all of a sudden your center &g tags are gone. Or when you first submit a story and start to type, the “switch to editor“ button at the top right simply vanishes. Those are only small things for me, but many people who are not that tech-savvy have asked me about it.Also, I would much prefer Steemit’s own way to upload pictures and especially videos, so that we don’t have to use external services or YouTube.


- Who are your Steemit mentors?

In my opinion, a mentor is someone that helps you and gives you tips. Because of my life experience, I have taught steemit to myself, so there is no mentor. I just started alone without knowing anyone on here or without anyone showing me how it works. I just tried it out!


- Which whales do you recommend Steemers follow and why?

I would recommend following @smooth, although he doesn’t post articles he is an extremely active and valuable member of the community. He is always active in the comments of big discussions, he supports campaigns like @steemdrive or sponsors prizes for challenges on Steemit. He really cares about the community and makes it a better place. @smooth decided to donate 2000 SBD directly to the Chicago SteemDrive Campaign and he also sponsored money for the #SteemitFoodChallenge . He is very active in the community and likes to support big projects on Steemit.


- Which dolphins do you recommend Steemers follow and why?

@knozaki2015 , @dragonslayer109 and @serejandmyself are helping out the community (like I do too) by supporting small minnows. Of course they have great content too, but they do more. Without any reward or incentive, they help smaller users in additional to posting their own articles.

Also, I like the content of @kevinwong and @anwenbaumeister . They both have very informative content that is very interesting to me!


And of course I have to mention @stellabelle although she’s not really a dolphin anymore, more like an Orca. She was the one who saw me as a minnow and helped me out. She is already very busy, but still takes the time to write articles in order to help minnows.


@KaylinArt

- What are the keys to your success on Steemit?

The key to my success is simply my life experience, that I can now express through steemit. I have always been a very creative person, and now I have a platform to post it. It’s not that I changed anything about myself, I’m just being me and now I am expressing my thoughts / creative work openly on Steemit.

- What advice would you give to newcomers?

Posting continuously, reading and commenting on other people’s posts, socializing with other users, and most important: stay yourself. Don’t copy something because it’s already successful. Be yourself because then you’ll always be unique!


- Where do you think Steemit will be in a year?

That’s a tough question, because so many factors play into it. Steemit will definitely grow – a lot. But I don’t think it will turn out to become a mainstream platform like facebook. Because of the link with cryptocurrency, steemit only attracts a certain kind of human – someone that’s interested in new things, maybe even in technologies, or interested in writing as priority, but definitely not someone that’s ignorant (like on Facebook)
And that’s okay, because people unite here, and we have similar interests which is great!

@sirwinchester will be answering questions down in the comment section below, so now is a great chance to learn more about Steemit from one of the experts!  Take a second to single out your most burning question and leave it for him to answer.


@KaylinArt

Let's Network!

Finding and following whales is easy.  Unfortunately, getting them to recognize the value of your content is all but impossible.  That’s why I created Dolphin Digest.  So that up-and-coming Steemit stars can learn the secrets of success from those who have already achieved their goals.  Minnows will have a chance to network with others who are closer to their level than the big names everyone is trying to get ahold of. 


Take a second to follow @dolphindigest if you like this sort of thing, as well as @sirwinchester, so that you keep tabs on his awesome, unique style of content.

If you’re a dolphin and you’d like to be interviewed for my blog, or you know of an excellent dolphin who I should reach out to, leave me a comment below and tell me all about it.  

Keep swimming,

@dolphindigest
 

Sort:  

it was a great interview, thank you again! Until next time!

Thanks to you @sirwinchester, for agreeing to do an interview! I wouldn't have been able to do it without you. :)

I will wait for the video interview, steemit chat is creepy :)

Hey @craig-grant, do you mean like a Skype interview? That's totally doable.

Awesome! What would be the best way to facilitate that? Would you like my email address or something like that?

my comment was about a video interview of sirwinchester, not me, I am nothing and nobody, it would be a waste of your time and energy to interview me

Why did you use the tag #steemitfoodchallenge ?

Thanks @sirwinchester for participating :)

How much time do you spend for a post on average ?
Do you make notes in advance, or do you just 'let it flow' ?

This was fantastic. I have had a couple opportunities to cross paths with @sirwinchester, and he's always been fantastically supportive.

To you, sir, I'd like to ask: what's your favorite fiction genre? Or do you like a little from everything?

Can't go wrong with life experience!

FYI - To the best of my knowledge there is still a 4 post limit in any 24 hour period without penalty.
I just noticed that in the last 8 hours you've posted 4, and I didn't want you to risk any payouts because of a technicality.
Just an FYI - Thanks

Thanks for letting me know, Papa Pepper. I wasn't aware of that limitation. :)

Good, I'm glad I tipped you off.

This is extremely informative!

Thanks @goldmatters, I'm glad the post was valuable to you. Care to mention something that interested you most? I'd like to know what to key in on for future posts.

Yes! Sorry for not being more specific.... Being a Steemit noob it was useful to hear specific ways to optimize time on the platform. How people search for content, how they vote, and what the outlook is for users was very interesting to me :)

Thanks for the feedback @goldmatters.

I need to get that . 12,000 SteemPower!

Use the tips sirwinchester mentioned and you'll get there someday. :)

He's really good at networking and offers good quality posts. I will follow too.

any one can become a dolphin if you buy Steem. I wonder how much Steem he bought.

hello @dolphindigest, I'm just stopping back to let you know that your post was one of my favourite reads today that I just posted. You can read what I had to say here

Interesting post and great idea!

I like it, and have only seen a little of what @sirwinchester is up to, but I appreciated it.

Keep it up @dolphindigest!

Thanks for the encouragement. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60065.47
ETH 2420.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46