WHALE HUNTING - A Former Wall Street Hustlers Approach To Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

whale_hunting_pic.jpg

Im not even two weeks into Steemit, but one thing I know for sure is how to spot and capture a whale. I spent a few years working in the belly of the beast, the financial district, and while I may not have had a Series-7 and didnt work on the exchange, I was still working on those streets. I worked in everything from debt settlement to precious metals investments.

I spent hours a day cold calling people all over the country selling our bullshit, and I got really good at it. I remember my first whale while I was only a couple of weeks into some small time boiler room operation selling Silver investments. My pitch book was open, and since his English wasnt great, he didnt notice that half of everything I was saying , I was actually reading.

After an exhausting hour or so, he agreed to get 2,000oz of silver. I patched him over to our compliance department, which was just some guy in the same loud room with no qualification any different than mine, merely a different voice, to get his social security number and financial information as well as a verbal contract to buy. And his check cleared 2 days later.

I received a check for $2000 that week, and never having made that much money in just a couple of weeks at that point, it felt really good. My confidence shot up, and I began to get really good at it. The checks were rolling in like mad, which helped the small boiler room operation become a bigger one, where we had multiple rooms, and the "compliance guy" now had a quiet room where he could sell his part of the show.

When I finally got paid for this post, I felt a similar feeling. I never got paid for posting in my many years of social media, and there it was, getting as high as $550.

Here I am with a new platform, not unlike that new company I worked for, also having attracted a few whales. I have a similar feeling, like Im about to be part of something special. Unlike the companies I worked for in Manhattan, this platform isnt selling bullshit.

But how does one catch a whale?

Patience.

Its coming, but let me recommend that you watch the movie Boiler Room if you havent already. Its a great film that really gets into the psychology of whale hunting, and describes perfectly some of the operations I was a part of.
boiler room vin diesel[2].jpg

And before I get into how to catch a whale, its important to understand why I no longer work in finance.

On January 31, 2011, my mother passed. I had just received a promotion a few weeks prior to sales manager of an operation after 2 years of busting my ass selling. I only took 2 days off to grieve because I didnt want to fuck up this new opportunity, only to be sat down the minute I came back to the office and told that the company is no more. Certain regulations had passed and we wouldnt be able to operate our sales force the same way. So not only was I suddenly motherless, but also jobless.

Salesmen usually recover from job loss very quickly. I always did. There were no shortage of companies in the area looking for new talent and it never took me very long to make my mark, but I just couldnt do it anymore.

I swear my mothers spirit was pushing me out of the arena of finance. I began to really reflect on what I was doing, what I was feeding. I had a spiritual awakening, an interruption on the path, with mystical events and synchronicities like mad. I was never very spiritual, but very atheistic in my thought process up to that point. But one can only see so much strange, before they need to know why and how.

I asked those questions to books, delving deep into odd and hidden literature, beginning to find answers and becoming addicted to the knowledge. This passion led to the end of a 7 year relationship with the love of my life. I was becoming spiritual and unceasingly incompatible with her. I had changed who I was for the better, and began to make my money the honest way. I sold books, but it wasnt bringing in the money she was used to.

51DKd0Ik8dL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The evil of Wall street, lower Manhattan, is real. Every square inch of that area is chock full of esoteric symbolism and occulted history. I began to see things so clearly, and understand money and its magic.

One of the things these companies love are "Greenies". These are new people that will fully believe in the shit they sell. They havent been around long enough to know, and so they sell it with enthusiasm, good intention, and belief. They usually make pretty good money doing it, but eventually that person comes to understand what they are doing and either sells their soul, or they quit, or at least in my case, until I woke up, I went into management so I didnt have to lie so much. I could just show these new guys how to do it and let them deal with the karma.

So how does one catch a whale?
shutterstock_415601617_web.jpg

  • Demonstrate Value
    They need to feel that without you, they are missing out on something. This may be information, or merely an opportunity to make money. As far as this platform goes especially, they may also just like you.

  • Be Aggressive
    You really should watch Boiler Room; it will reveal this above all else. A whale feels that you may be an extension of his will. They like a person who is aggressive and confident, and most of all, not afraid to tell them off. They need to know you have balls. You wont believe some of the crazy insults I have hurled at wealthy people, only to have them write a check not long after.

  • Show Some Heart
    Dont be afraid to expose yourself. While this may seem counter to the last bullet point, it really isnt. It takes a very strong person to expose themselves, to become seemingly vulnerable, but sometimes the best way to catch something, is to look like bait. Just have your stinger ready, because like the last bullet point expresses, they want to know you can be aggressive.

  • Know Your Shit!
    Become the authority, the go to person. Whatever it is that you do, that you vlog or blog about, you cannot afford to be #2.

  • Be Confident. Dont Be Afraid To Talk Yourself Up.
    Just dont do it in a cocky way. A great way to smooth it out so it doesnt seem cocky is to first expose yourself to the whale. You have to draw them into you on a personal level. Humble yourself in their eyes before you talk yourself up.

I had a couple of whales help me out my first week, but my content is very raw and even disturbing, and so I lost them. It takes a strong person to stay with me. I dont stroke egos, Im not here to kiss whale ass or beg for followers. Im here to shed light into the dark places, so I understand that I am not for everyone.

As I said earlier, with the success I had in my first week here, I feel much like I did when I made my first commission check from silver investment sales. Only this time, it isnt about money per se, but rather about cryptocurrency and what I feel it can do. I truly believe in this platform and see the spiritual advantages of it.

So if you are a whale reading this, do the smart thing. Go to my previous posts and witness the content for yourself. It is unique and valuable. This post right here should have been upvoted thousands of times. It is important information shared with love. This post literally heals, but it was only seen by 200 people.

I just saw a post on Steemit that was merely one person who took photos of his back yard and it is making hundreds of dollars!

Come on Steemit whales. Give me the fuel I need. I shouldnt be losing steam after the first week I had. I delivered exactly what I said I would, and I have a lot more to come. I wont let you down.

And for those of you who are also new to the platform, especially those who I brought on board, put some love into your posts and you will do well. Good luck.

With love,
Doc

Sort:  

You have been deemed worthy ;) here's a little boost to help you out!
upvote_initiative.png
100% UpVoted, @randowhale UpVoted & Re-steemed! More about the Initiative here...
Remember To Vote blueorgy for witness!

That was so cool of you, @blueorgy :-)

Thank you. And that is how its done.

Amazing, I find this initiative really interesting @blueorgy! :)

Loading...

posting in 'introduceyourself' 9 times probably helps too ;)

Good post my man... that's how you dominate :)

Loading...

Welcome to Steem friend. Let's build this community! I left an upvote for you! Would be happy if you follow me for the latest tech news etc.

BTW and if you need help, you can always get back to me!

Schweet...... nice post... I am outa steem power but will come back for you.... :)

Well... I do not normally read such long posts. I don't like when people just write for the sake of writing and there is not much in the text. I also do not write long post, but that is because English is not my first language and after a while I find myself a bit lost.
But I did read what you wrote up there and it was a pleasure. Very well written and very approachable (even for a foreigner). I really hope you do well here and you have my vote on this one, even though it is not worth much.

What a wonderful post! So much great information--and I can tell you actually back it up with action. An inspiring story with great information AND that is actually well-written... You're definitely the type of person I want to follow. Cheers and I wish you well on this new journey!

Really nice post. I'm downloading right now the movie, gonna see it tmrw. Looking forward to see more content from you :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25