You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Dad? Can I download your pic for free? • Dis tonton, je peux télécharger gratuitement tes photos?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Well said! I have been dealing with this same problem now for over 20 years! I am a stock photographer with thousands of images available for licensing through various agencies, yet I still get companies contacting me and thinking that I will be excited to give them my work for free.

A few weeks ago a travel agency found an image of mine on Fineartamerica where I had posted and contacted me to ask if they could use it on the front of a travel brochure - giving me credit, of course. My reply was very nice, but I explained that I run a business and as such have overheads like every other business. I told them I would be thrilled if they used the image and directed them to Getty Images where they could pay the licensing fee. :-) I will find out if they bothered to do that when the statement comes in. My guess is that they will have found some other photographer glad to be able to make a living off of "Image Credit." LOL!

I hope you don't mind, but I included a link to this post in mine today! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61825.46
ETH 2454.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60