Reddit's SteemDiscussion Sub is Up

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

REDDIT'S STEEMIT DISAPPOINTMENT

For a long time I've been really disappointed with Reddit's /r/Steem subreddit. It's so full of self promotion that to anyone looking in it looks like nothing but a giant vanity project.

The lack of thoughtful discussion about the platform like we find in other crypto subreddits like Monero, Litecoin, UBIQ and even Doge, makes the whole subreddit an unserious contender for helping build the community. If I want to find stuff to read on Steem, I'll search through Steem or Google and not this Reddit circle jerk. It's a complete free for all. There are no guiding rules to the subreddit and I can't see any moderation happening from the mods.

I even went so far as to post about it in the /r/steemit subreddit, but was shot down pretty quickly. It seems as the prevailing attitude is that people like it the way it is.

Thankfully, @benjaq is the ordinary hero of the day and started the subreddit /r/SteemitDiscussion!! Everyone should send Ben here a little love and check out his Introduce Yourself Post!

SteemitDiscussion.jpg

The Hero

THE BABY SUBREDDIT!

SteemitDiscussion.png

It's so fresh and so clean!

I for one am going to actually use this subreddit now for Steem related questions since I'm on that platform and not on Steem.Chat too much. We need a place on Reddit for real discussion on how the core platform is developing, how we can make it better and how all the apps being built on top can actually affect certain communities and industries.

A platform where we can discuss these things on Reddit will be helpful in demonstrating how Steem is growing and that the community gives a fig about the platform as a whole rather than just trying to get the clicks. I'm hoping this subreddit grows.

I'm also going to introduce the hashtag #steemitdiscussion as a way of categorizing whether or not the topic is also on the subreddit for further discussion.

Thanks, Ben!

Phil

Sort:  

Awesome that you liked my idea!

I, too, think that reddit could be great place to discuss steemit and introduce new people to steemit.
I resteemed your post, even though that's probably not going to do a lot... ;)

No worries. I appreciate the resteem! I should have done what you did so my hat is off to you! Just gotta keep using and promoting it. I know I will.

I hope the steemit subreddit will feature us in the sidebar, that would probably be the easiest way of getting more participants.

I wrote a pm to Acidyo who's the main mod of the steem subreddit, let's hope he thinks it's a good idea. As far as I can tell he's all for quality instead of quantity.

Good idea. I wonder if there are any other subreddits that might find SteemitDiscussion subreddit worth listing. Maybe /r/cryptocurrency?

Hey, Acidyo added us to the sideboard. We should now have a steady supply of subscribers.👍

That’s awesome! I hope it becomes a place we can help Steem grow. We really needed a place like this to discuss the actual platform(s) rather than having a place to pat each other on the back. If you ever need help moderating as it gets bigger feel free to reach out. I am on hiatus at the moment so I have some free time to do a little moderating here and there.

Good idea, but there sideboard is cluttered already, I very much doubt they want to promote a subreddit with 9 subscribers. :P
Let's hope Acidyo is willing to help us grow by adding us to the sideboard. Otherwise it might be quite hard to gain enough subscribers to make it a lively subreddit.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Resteemed to over 18800 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

#resteembot #bestofresteembot #winwithresteembot

@resteem.bot

Feel free to join our partner crypto exchange: https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705.

@resteem.bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98