Sort:  

NOPE... I am making a post NOW that explains this, but in short, you get SBD like it was $1 U$D, and in amounts that "equalize" with STEEM. If Steem is $6, you will get 6 SBD with a 50/50 reward. You can then use this 6 SBD to grab 6 steem. If you use 100% payouts to power-up, you will get 2 steem. The system sees 1 steem @ $6 as equal to 6 SBD, regardless of SBD prices. It was REALLY CRAZY when I was getting 10 SP for 1 SBD, I Loved It! My article comes out tomorrow... I will link Max's article here, and resteem.
I'm hoping Max will resteem and link back for me, once I have a link LOL ;)
Here it is: https://steemit.com/steem/@underground/we-have-reached-parity-and-passed-it-so-do-i-keep-powering-up

Hi @underground, QUESTION: I have post payout set at 50/50. On my latest post I got $94.42 in author rewards. This was split SBD 47.21 and only 8.22 Steem. If they are in parity, why is the STEEM payout 6x less than the SBD payout? Why am i not getting SBD 47.21 and only 47.21 Steem?

the system sees STEEM as worth $5.74 so it awards 8.22 steem (8.22x5.743309) so the numbers work, 8.22 steem = $47.21... The system also stills awards 47.21 SBD because it is presumably pegged to the U$D, so you get an "Equal Payout" in SBD... but wait! SBD went a lot higher, so this is a temporary "BONUS" or rather, a Glitch in the system. I bet they "fix" this in HF 20, and SBD rewards will be adjustable according to market value. So Take Advantage of it while you can! HF 20 is still being worked on as far as I know. Good Q, Colin!

Wow, I have looking for answers on Steemit all day. That explains it very well. Thank you, thank you, thank you

it giving more sbd in this case isn't much of a glitch in my opinion, it just provides a way to stabalize the share prices into higher trading values afaik its not pegged down to a dollar its only pegged to not drop under a dollar, its only a way to measure a relative value of capital and shares, and it does that quite accurately even considering rewards, since shares are now handed out in a higher degree of scarecity when while they were worth 3 times less than sbd it brought the reward quantities closer together, and as that drifts apart the value drifts together, bringing steem up and sbd down and permanently making both relative sides of the market worth more to the outside world, creating that rising trend in combined value we see now.

@underground Got it. Looked into payouts again and how quickly I forget. I've figured it out (again). Here's an example: say the payout that shows is $12. 75% goes to the author and 25% goes to the curators, so the split is $9 and $3, respectively. The $9 payout to the author is split 50/50 in SP and SBD, $4.50 each.

Since the SBD was originally pegged to $1USD, you receive 4.50 SBD and $4.50 worth of SP. Assuming the avg price of STEEM was trading at $6 during the earning period of your post, you would get 0.75 SP (4.50/6). So the final payout you would receive from the post is 4.50 SBD + 0.75 SP. I think there are other factors that go into the final payout numbers, but this is general idea of the payout structure from my research.

@colinbrazendale If SBD was trading at $1USD as it was intended to be, you would have received 8.22 SBD and 8.22 STEEM, but since SBD is trading around $6 you are actually making more in USD than originally intended. Assuming a $6 price in SBD and STEEM, your approximate payout for the post in USD is around (47.21 * $6) + (8.22 * $6) = $332.58.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58049.95
ETH 3128.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21