We have reached PARITY, and passed it... so do I keep Powering UP?

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

We all figured this day would come...

where SBD prices reached Parity, or Equality, with Steem Price. Well, that day was today. It has since pulled back, SBD has risen (or steem dropped) but as you can see the green portion on the left is the SBD in the market awaiting to be sold at various Steem Prices. There is a LOT More SBD in there than Steem. Econ 101 tells us that "more dollars chasing fewer goods and services creates inflation" so the (relative) price of STEEM will go up as a result.
sbd-steem parity graph.png
If these SBD sellers are serious, (greens) they will bid a little higher if the Steem prices do not come down first. It's like a Mexican Standoff, and in this case, the minority usually sets the prices. Depends a lot on what the external markets do, but the price gaps have been closing for weeks now, and it's almost at parity on coinmarketcap.com now!

So what is a Steemian to do?

Let's look at a little history, or rather some commonly held beliefs and some history.
First, the name "Steem Backed Dollars" is a misnomer. I read the whitepaper and it is "Steem BLOCKCHAIN Dollars" and for purposes of stability, liquidity, yada yada, the SBD was supposed to be pegged to go no lower than 1 U$D. Much lower issuance of SBD. Currently there are 246,786,887 STEEM in circulation, versus 6,110,133 SBD so that is a huge mismatch for the STEEM to SBD ratio. I think the Zappl tag and others used SBD only, one of my Steemit "Besties" wanted SBD only for a while, and it reached like $20 in a spike, and traded steadily above $10 for a while. Those were the DAYS! I remember trading the SBD for Steem and powering up during that time, it was a really exciting time! I saw my account go from just under $3k to $40k+ in about a month, but I bought a lot of steem also. It was so cheap ($1.25, plus I stacked up a lot at a 90¢ average before that) that I was able to really make hay with the $10 SBD. My Loyal Followers were really voting me up as well, I could not have done it w/o your support! :* <3
All that aside, what do we do NOW? At least until HF20, which is still being discussed as far as I know, we should continue to buy Steem with SBD and power up until SBD actually hits $1 in terms of U$D. That is when the "rewards glitch" as I call it, will stop. As long as SBD is over $1, the rewards algos mistakenly calculate SBD as a flat $1 rate, and try to award Equal Value to Steem. But since the "U$Dollar Peg" is broken, the steemit rewards algo give out more value in SBD than it was designed to do, at least in theory.
So I say Keep Trading your "overpriced" SBD for Steem, until it hits the $1 peg once again. Even then, I'd buy STEEM but it is just easier to do a 100% power-up payout. I would speculate that even an SBD price just over $1, like $1.05 would make a 50/50 payout viable for most steemians. If SBD is low, one might consider saving it until it goes higher. Here's a great related article, by @spiritualmax, covers some other aspects of this "parity" and from a more practical aspect. Please check him out and Up-vote if you like it!
https://steemit.com/steemit/@spiritualmax/1-steem-1-sbd-and-so-it-begins

...............................................................................
image credit: ME, screenshot of Internal Market

Sort:  

Great post, thanks.

QUESTION: I have post payout set at 50/50. On my latest post I got $94.42 in author rewards. This was split SBD 47.21 and only 8.22 Steem. If they are in parity, why is the STEEM payout 6x less than the SBD payout?

Thanks

because they take that 47.21 and buy steem at current price in USD$ =$5.74 per steem token. whereas the algorithm that works out the split still treats SBD as being worth 1USD$ so you geyt a lot more of them, hope this helps :)

Great post. You’re doing it that’s for sure. I just ran into you on a comment I made on another post so I came to see what you’re about. I’m still trying to learn how to really leverage this platform, even though I’m no expert blogger or content creator. I have some ideas, but at this point in time I think I need to buy more STEEM and power up! I’ll look forward to seeing more like this on my feed. Thanks

steem will go much higher now that the dollar reference is broken ...some say steem at 100 dollars in 2018 :D

never powered up will try to power up once

It is not immediate payoff, but it will give you more influence and increase your curation rewards right away. If you use the higher SP to upvote more people, you will gain more followers and likely better upvotes yourself. Worked for me, I have a very loyal core group that upvotes everything I publish.
I just ran the numbers thru the upvote calculator and your 100% upvotes would go from 2¢ to 4¢ as your SP climbs from 55 (now) to 85SP if you powered up all the SBD in your wallet and added that and the steem you now have to your total SP. I see you have been taking SBD out to bittrex, that is none of my business how you use your money, but reinvesting into STEEMIT SP really makes the post payouts go UP, especially if you self-vote the posts. I've had days on here where I've earned over $100 U$D, in fact that is not all uncommon at all. I do not need the cash so I just keep reinvesting it all. Dolphin in less than 8 months ;) :D

Great post Underground! On point with what people are wondering about right now.
Thanks for the mention, it is good to be appreciated.
I'll keep powering up, you did well powering up on those days, I wish I was here.
Cheers

50/50 is best in this up and down

powering up still is not a good idea done one post powered up it was useless

I believe you mean "100%" power-up and yes that is not a good idea, Blaze!

thanks mate very helpful info :)

sbd no matter what is going on giving maximum profit

Very insiteful. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64742.19
ETH 3169.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55