Steemit Predicted in Science-Fiction?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I read a passage in Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson that made me think of Steemit.

...And a few short weeks ago, his tenure as a pizza deliverer--the only pointless dead-end job he really enjoys--came to an end. Since then, he's been putting a lot more emphasis on his auxiliary emergency backup job: freelance stringer for the CIC, the Central Intelligence Corporation of Langley, Virginia. The business is a simple one. Hiro gets information...He uploads it to the CIC database...Millions of other CIC stringers are uploading millions of other fragments at the same time...if [the CIC's clients] find a use for something that Hiro put into it, Hiro gets paid.

In Stephenson's dystopian future world, the database storing all the information collected by stringers is centralized. But, when something in the database is used, the person who posted that data is paid. This made me see this as a prediction of sorts for platforms like Steemit. The difference here is that content is curated by choice through a voting process. What's funny is that Stephenson even relates the struggle of making a post only to find it lost into the abyss.

...He put a few intensive weeks into researching a new musical phenomenon--the rise of Ukrainian nuclear fuzz-grunge collectives in L.A. He has planted exhaustive notes on this trend in the Library, including video and audio. Not one single record label, agent, or rock critic has bothered to access it.

I just started this book recently, I'm less than fifty pages in. I thought it was cool that the things I'm reading as speculative sci-fi in the book are seemingly coming to be in the present day. Have you read any sci-fi that predicts Steemit or other new technologies trending today?

Image Source

Sort:  

I've heard of Snow Crash, but have yet to read it. Its a teotwawki if I recall.
Decentralized blockchains are most likely to remain past human extinction.
If you carve some information into granite it may last a couple thousand years, but if you want info to last forever post it to a blockchain.

Teotwawki

I hadn't heard that term before. The world in the book is definitely not the world we know today. America is divided into corporation-states, military and police forces are completely privatized, and there are armed conflicts fighting over control of highways. There's a university dedicated to the pizza delivery industry, which is controlled by the mafia. The book does a great job at world-building.

I saw you upvoted my post came here found this ejoyed it,upvoted, and resteemed
Would you be willing to upvote my comment.

I will upvote comments that contribute to the topic or theme of the post.

is my comment not related?
i said i enjoyed your post i thought it was interesting.
and that why i took the time to read upvote and resteem your work
but hey no biggy

I do not find it to be related. The reason being is you could copy-paste that same comment to any post on Steemit and it would be just as "related." This kind of reply is viewed by some highly-reputable creators as a "one-size-fits-all" comment.

In addition, I checked out your behavior, and it appears that you are upvoting much more than 10x/day, which makes your upvotes worth much less than they would at 100% voting power. You are doing me a "favor" without my consent and then asking afterwards for a payout, which frankly I do not appreciate. At they very least you could ask, "Hey, if I resteem your post will you upvote my comment."

I can't tell you how to use this platform, but I personally do not want to see a culture of upvote trading develop here. If you like my post, then by all means upvote and resteem it. If I like your posts then I will upvote and possibly resteem them.

ok i understand what you are saying but i did find your literary find interesting
I apologize for not being as articulate as you but thank you for your time to inform me. but my original intent was truly to spread your post not get the upvote im sorry if it seemed that way.

No problem, thanks for understanding. Have a good one.

Congratulations @dinobot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dinobot! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dinobot! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99