Crowdfunding: Steemit As A Crowdfunding Platform

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

In my last crowdfunding post, I asked for questions, and most of them seemed to be about Steemit. Which wasn't the topic, and isn't something I, as someone who's only been on here for a little more than a month, feel super qualified to answer.

But I do have thoughts on how Steemit and crowdfunding can, do, and will intersect.

steemstarter.png
This will probably not be the logo

The fact is, people crowdfund on Steemit every day. This post by @shawnamawna is a fine example of that (you can still upvote it, by the way). And in some ways, it's easier. As @techslut recently pointed out, there's a freedom to give when it doesn't cost you anything.

On the other hand, the fluctuations in currency value and in the reward pool make it much harder. It's hard to aim for a goal when you don't know what the thing you're getting is WORTH.

That said, I think it's inevitable that someone will create a SteemStarter (or maybe GoSteemMe?) type app on the Steem blockchain, optimized for crowdfunding. You would need to compensate for the fluctuations somehow when it comes to rewards, and it should support both upvotes and direct transfers of Steem and/or SBD. I think this will happen in 2018 (If anyone wants to hire me to consult on such a project, talk to me), and I think it has a chance to do really well.

Sort:  

great idea, you already are surrounding yourself with some smart cookies but then again you are a smart cookie
nom nom

This comment is super funny to me because I have a cookie related post coming tomorrow. And it's not a food post. Nom nom, indeed.

This would be amazing! I've actually come up with a big project I would LOVE to launch on Steemit the coming months, and although I still have to start writing the idea into a blog post of some sorts, I might in a few weeks ask for your input on crowdfunding via Steemit <3 I'm super excited and hope I will find a way of doing it - despite the challenge of fluctuations in value!

That sounds super exciting! Looking forward to hearing from you!

This is a fantastic idea @didic! As you probably know, I'm trying to find raise to pay for my dogs surgery, so a platform like that would be amazing. Or perhaps you can contact gofundme or kickstarter or whatnot and inquire about them taking crypto? If you can't build the infrastructure, joining existing platforms would be the next best alternative!

They're not likely to at this point.

And my point was that the infrastructure of Steemit is already here to build on. I'm not talking about tacking on an additional currency. I'm talking about building it on the blockchain.

And, if you don't mind me saying this, I'm a little TOO aware of your fundraising efforts, as Gina tells me each time you mention me in each post. And... I don't want to mute you on Gina. You're a valuable commenter here on my blog. The "thank you" list in each post is not the best thing. Here's a free crowdfunding consultation tip: don't antagonize your supporters with notification spam.

I really appreciate your advice. Do you think I should at least thank the daily voters and not the entire list still? Or just remove it completely??? I'm somewhat new to the community so I can't really say I know what's appropriate or not, my apologies. I am open to any advice to help my cause, thanks in advance.

Daily voters would be much better. Being thanked once is fine! Being thanked in multiple posts every night is not. Especially if you use GinaBot and have notifications on mentions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05