Why I am Not Powering Down Yet

in #steemit4 years ago (edited)

P_20190830_102647_BF_steemit.jpg

Me before the quarantine

I know most of my followers are moving to Hive and I can understand. We've been fighting for something and we have to live up to it I know. So, I've moved there and tried posting. But for some reason, it feels empty to me. Maybe I am not used to it yet. Maybe Hive needs time. Or maybe there's a part of me that will always love Steemit. There's this nostalgia. Steemit has been such a huge help in my life. I used to live off it, remember? It also funded my startup. So I am not ready to give it up just yet. Please don't judge me for my choices. I am just tired of a life full of start overs. For once, I want to keep something until the end, maybe I will keep Steemit.

Let's face it, Steemit's been here for a while now. People come and go. Nothing new. There may be new people coming here, or not, who knows? But I don't think Steemit is gonna go just like that. There are flaws sure. But why can't we just agree with something and move on? Can we just agree to disagree? Is this all about the ego again and trying to fight for that idea? Can we just accept the change even if we don't like some of it? Maybe it's for the best, let's just give it a try.

Let's also face the fact that as human beings, nothing will ever be enough. Hive or Steemit, everything is prone to corrupt. There's always something wrong. I've seen it all, bots, bidbots, bad guys, trolls, and all the good and the bad. Guess what, Steemit's still here. We've been saying that Steemit's gonna go down since the beginning.

Maybe it's because I just started posting again and haven't experienced first-hand this new management people hate. I don't know. In my opinion, there's a reason why some things in this world should be controlled. Can you imagine in our current state if people have all that freedom? We might end up eating each other.

I think it would be hard for me to cross-post or maintain two accounts. I'll just continue writing here for now and see how it goes. I will continue to support those who are still here in this community. I understand those people who want me to be on the other side but my heart says to stick around. And if in the end I lose everything, then I lose everything.

I mean who knows? We are all just speculating here. Steem may rise up again and we will all be happy and shit. While it is low, we can just focus on each other, help each other or set aside our egos and differences. Share our lives during this world crisis and continue staying for the community.

Anyway, what about you? Are you powering down now and moving on to somewhere else? Let me know your thoughts.

Always @diabolika

Sort:  

People didn't leave, they were pushed away. Justin Sun opened the door and pushed people out. Have you been paying attention to what Steemit Inc has been doing under the helm of dear leader Sun? Censorship.

If competition is meant to be good, why go to the effort of censoring any mention of Hive from high-profile users? People have had their accounts blacklisted as you can see here. These users are the ones who were responsible for starting the competing fork Hive. Is this what you support? Do you support a company that instead of embracing competition, feels threatened by it and tries to pretend it doesn't exist and prevents mention of it?

Who in their right mind would come along and say, "This seems like a great place to build a dApp on?" Sure, Hive is a fork of Steem and at present, it is no different. But keep something in mind, Blocktrades are a highly capable company that contributed a lot to Steem and they were instrumental in its early success. Without Blocktrades, Steem probably would have been half as popular as it is. For such a long time, Blocktrades was the only exchange when Steem launched.

Let's be honest high power steemians have been lording over Steemit for such a long time and been censoring posts they don't like. The only difference now is there is a much bigger whale that is giving them a dose of their own medicine. Besides a lot of them have been hostile towards Steemit Inc and you expect them not to use their power to downvote them. Using the same excuse of whales before: you can get downvotes just because a whale does not agree with your content. Another logic of the whales from old steem: if you are more than willing to accept upvotes then you should be willing to take the downvote as well.

I don't agree with what Steemit Inc is doing but I am not surprised they are doing it since a lot those who were downvoted (censored) is practically burning Steemit Inc to the ground.

Who in their right mind would come along and say, "This seems like a great place to build a dApp on?"

Honestly, under Justin and Tron management I think Steem blockchain will be better of. Why? Just look at all the dapps aggregator sites you will see. Tron has Samsung partnership, Opera partnership, DLive, Bittorent and more this Listed in practically in all relevant exchanges and Tron is just 1.5 years old.

How about Steem? 4 years old down. Are users increasing? Is it listed in more exchanges? The only relevant application beyond blogging was steemonsters which reached out to TRON for expansion. Now all of a sudden everything is bad on TRON.

Perhaps under Blocktrades this will all change but I am more inclined to think that the same old Steem will persist on Hive. With the type of behavior, they are showing I won't be surprised that sooner or later they will be at each other's throats for power and control.

Have you been paying attention to what Steemit Inc has been doing under the helm of dear leader Sun?

I haven't been paying attention lately and I am glad I didn't... but I know it must be really bad.

A lot of big whales on that list I see...

I hope they make amends with blocktrades then.

Tron (formerly Steemit Inc) has CENSORED, on the Steemit Platform, not just down-voted like normal users would do for "censorship".

It's not an open platform. By waiting to power down, you're handicapping yourself and the value you've earned.

To be fair, you still have that duplicatative value on Hive, so you won't lose "everything". But you should know that Justin Sun (Tron) has indicated that their primary goal from acquiring Steemit Inc is to make money, liquidate Steem tokens and move Everything to Tron (at a fraction of the value).

You'd benefit by protecting your investment in Steem, powering down and moving that value into Hive.. but that's a pure opinion.. you're obviously welcome to stay here and do as you choose 👍

Yeah, sad but im powering down also.
Steemit was made to be decentralized social network. Justin Sun centralized it so steemit is a lost cause for me.
We need community to run this.

I am also a long time user of steenit and I didnt enjoy leaving it but im excited what is to come on Hive now.

I know this is sad... but we'll see what will happen on Hive.

Steemit is my home and I am very disappointed how the previous witnesses handled the negotiations. The end result is handing full control of steem blockchain to Justin Sun. They would rather give up Steem rather than make concessions just because they don't like the new management or if they cannot be guaranteed to maintain their influence and power. With all their posturing and bravado they did not even last a month fighting for Steem.

One of the things that I discovered during this ordeal is that there are a lot of bigots, racists and arrogant people in steemit and a lot of them behave as such because they had power and influence. Those who want to stay neutral were shunned or trolled and even blacklisted from the Hive airdrop. They were censored because they practiced their free will and speak out their minds.

Hopefully, under this new management, those who were marginalized will find the platform safer and more welcoming. I am hoping that that Justin will do good on his promise and the Tron community will also join Steemit. However, I expect that this development will take time before it can be accomplished and initially, I expect that most of the people who left for hive will try to burn down Steemit by trolling and spamming the platform.

As for myself I will continue to share my content here. But I will also consume content from hive members especially from those who have become my friends through the years using Steem. I am not yet sure if I want to cross-post my contents in Hive. There are other platforms out there that are more established than hive perhaps I will just exert more energy there where reward distributions are fairer and you don't need to associate yourself with whales, witnesses, and communities who hog much the reward pool.

Hive I think will just remain the same old Steem where you don't really need good content to succeed but good connections with whales and high powered communities. Of course, not everyone contributes for the sake of rewards but it is just upsetting that those who were given power did not actively pursue those who were contributing relevant and quality content. They were contented to keep the whale circle-jerking party going. well not until a bigger whale comes along and this tradition will carry on in Hive.

They would rather give up Steem rather than make concessions just because they don't like the new management or if they cannot be guaranteed to maintain their influence and power.

This is just sad.

One of the things that I discovered during this ordeal is that there are a lot of bigots, racists and arrogant people in steemit and a lot of them behave as such because they had power and influence.

People's true colors come out in the heat of an argument.

Those who want to stay neutral were shunned or trolled and even blacklisted from the Hive airdrop.

Gosh I can imagine... I notice this from one of my comments here.

They were contented to keep the whale circle-jerking party going. well not until a bigger whale comes along and this tradition will carry on in Hive.

With that said, I would rather stay here. This will probably become a better place soon. Just being positive.

Thank you so much for dropping by!

There was really no concessions to be made. Justin wanted Steem, and he was prepared to go the extra length to do it. We all knew we wouldn't win, we all knew Justin wouldn't listen to reason, and we knew he would wreck the chain and this was inevitable. On Hive we don't have a threat of Justin, or anyone else buying up the majority of the vote.

How can you be so sure? The thing is some people hate Justin Why? is it because of his ethnicity, the many comments I have seen around steemit seems to suggest so and those who are willing to give him the benefit of the doubt were basically outcast. I am not totally in agreement with all that he has been doing but have you seen how some steemians reacted, despicable. I was EXPECTING more from them. I expected them to be the leaders they say they are not like some craze mob out to kill someone and yes some of these people are actually wishing Justin to be killed. Is this the type of people you want to associate yourself with?

How I see it Justin is still playing nice. As you have said he has the money to do so, so what is stopping him from buying Hive on bittrex or probit and raising havoc in Hive as well. He just wanted his STEEM he bought from NED that is how I see it... just think of it this way.. all this aggressive posturing and drama was all to save Steem right? Where is steem now under ... Justin Sun. They utterly failed to save STEEM.

I am not powering down at all.

That Hive fork is not really solving or innovating in any way, so more will be lost, if Hive wants to become amazing it will have to do it's own 3-4 years first as Steem has done. But it will always still be Steem since they use Steem code but pretend they don't. People believe it's easy to copy paste something to a new place but it's not. Hive feels empty because it's filled with people that gave something up

I don't want to hurt my followers but Hive feels like just a copy-paste of Steemit.

Hive feels empty because it's filled with people that gave something up

Awww so true.

Hive feels fresh, not empty.

STEEM is Freemium and not the first one of it's kind.
Better #BeeFree on #HIVE :))

3u6fcw.jpg

There is no Problem with FREEMIUM or STEEM or HIVE or whatever. But this Bockchain(former STEEM) is now property of the Tron Foundation. Who cares about Justin Sun anymore? TRON ate dozens of chains since early 2019 and it's always the same. They manipulate the DPoS to assimilate the blockchain codebase, create supernode, go into hyperinflation and add the userbase to their "the Collective" of 15Million 'active' users. It is as it as, this is TRON Land now and all accounts and wallets are their property by force.

It was interesting to see that the buy/sell wallet links, now, take one to poloniex.com.

Check it out....

https://steemitwallet.com/@manniman/transfers

I will stay on the fence.
It’s all power games and ego. Both sides did stupid shitty things. Us normal users just get smooshed around without say.
I’m too attached to steem to just give up like that. There will be many cross posting tools. Ill just use them both. I honestly hope they both thrive. And will do my best to ignore any vitriol from either side.

Us normal users just get smooshed around without say.

So true. I'll just stay here and not get involved. But the whole Steemit drama is a good distraction lol. Just posting about it garnered 50+ comments haha.

Glad to have found you : )
Yep this is my home as well. I have been here for more than three years in one form or another. I am glad to be holding Hive but it feels like it doe not have a soul to me.

Likewise... of course, nothing is set in stone I might also go for Hive but for now I will stay with Steemit and see how it develops under different management. I hope people whom I know can respect that especially those whose only purpose is to burn steemit down. I have also been here for more than three years now and have developed many friendships here.

I hope in the coming days the silent majority will start using the platform and more people will be onboarded. I am looking forward to see the community from Tron start using the platform and create new friendships and create a new Steemit that goes beyond STEEM.

Aww thank you! 😊

I know right, same feeling.

Lol in fact I’ve been powering up my steem I now see the chance to be an even bigger holder of this coin as more people leave and dump for HIVE which is totally okay everyone has a choice!

I support those who move to HIVE and want to make it a good project it’s still in its infancy and I’m sure over the next 12 months we will see a lot of changes and the chains will become different over time

While steem can continue along as it as I have yet to see the Tron foundation announce any plans for the project which is concerning I mean now that they have full control whats the point? We still want to see development, new features, new exchanges? Time for Justin to show what his about and not just blow hot air he has nothing in his way now to make changes

Yes powering up makes sense now.

I'm sure Hive's going to be a good project full of good people from Steemit. Let's see. Maybe it needs time.

We still want to see development, new features, new exchanges?

We are all waiting here for the big change.

... I have yet to see the Tron foundation announce any plans for the project which is concerning I mean now that they have full control whats the point?

Atomic swaps announced on his first day as STINC CEO sounded pretty huge to me. It was received like a lead balloon by the V.22.2 Cabal.

I mean recently since it’s his chain now he hasn’t said shit and all his devs have done is censor posts

My guess he has programmers working on a new HF while letting the sell off take place. Time will tell.

Hi there

I've been reading through many comments related to new hive chain and I've seen your comment too. Many users are being torn, however majority seem to be moving to new hive.

Are you fully moving there or will you stay on both chains? Just curious. I'm trying to figure out what to do myself.

Loading...

I've been writing about this before and will repeat myself. This is not happing on a plane field. It's the strategy of a chinese billion-dollar crypto company. At some point you have to understand, that all STEEM wallets and STEEM accounts are now the property of the TRON Foundation.

This is just how the TRON foundation works, they are like borg and they did this dozen of times, overrule the DPoS with supernodes and then token swap, soon there will be a post like this about STEEM, check this out:
20200326 20_55_59Progression, regression, obsession and thickening skin _ PeakD.png20200326 20_55_55Progression, regression, obsession and thickening skin _ PeakD.png20200326 20_55_46Progression, regression, obsession and thickening skin _ PeakD.png

The more I search the more I find, It is a sickening fiend of assimilated BlockChain communities... like a graveyard.

Can you enlighten me on why this staking model is wrong? and what is wrong if other chains assimilate other weaker chains, for some, it is like a second chance for them rather than rot into obscurity. As I see it, Tron, in its shorter period of existence has done more and your claim that all accounts wallets are now the property of TRON is just plainly false. Show me proof they own it so long I have my own private keys they will never get my STEEM or TRON.

Being a STEEM and TRON user and interacting with their dapps for years the older Steemit is more centralized from my own perspective as a user. A lot of steemians have to modify their behavior just because they have to align themselves with the upvoting whales or are afraid of the downvoting megalomaniacs who think they are kings of the platform, unfortunately, there is a much bigger whale in town Justin Sun who are now giving them a dose of their own medicine.

Since you claim that Tron now owns Steemit what are you doing here contributing content? I think your energy and passion are better-utilized contributing to Hive where you can do all you want and aligns with your values. Besides you will only be a target of censorship here.

HIVE is hardfork 23 and has changed a lot of wallets right? For a central power with no regulation it‘s very easy to change your wallet, technically. No big Problem while pushing out a HF. They can freeze your assets even without that, as we’ve learned in the recent past. Your keys are just your personal Authenticator on this Blockchain.

They can freeze your assets

that is an interesting point.. who froze whose assets by the way?

Let me get to these questions when I‘m not on my phone at 3:36 am xD

A4AECCD69096457985E00785C7823316.png

Go ahead, just voicing out opinions not really something that you need to lose sleep on LOL.

We all felt the burn, your not alone... #BeeFree on the #HIVE

Double dipping is the way to go imo. Besides, don't they always say competition is great for consumers?

Besides, don't they always say competition is great for consumers?

True.

I'm sorry to those I hurt with this post. But this is my choice.

Don't be sorry sister it is your choice and you should have the freedom to say what you feel. You should not be coerced to behave in such a manner that you don't like.

I'm not hurt at all, to each his own.

Personally, I hope both chains succeed.

Yes I hope so too.

Besides, don't they always say competition is great for consumers?

What's not to love about airdrops? 😎

Are you powering down now and moving on to somewhere else?

Powering down both STEEM and HIVE so as to be more liquid. DPoS governance has failed. Nothing has really changed that much on HIVE in that regard. Sure STINC's stake has been shifted to SPS but will that only empower BernieSanders to downvote bully more and @freedom to have more say on the top 20 picks.

Came for the technology and left when it was shown to be broken.

I have a feeling that if powerful people who want to rule and not be ruled are moving to Hive, then it is going to be the same thing there.

I am doing the same I am powering down both so to be more liquid and assess my options. Actually I have powered down way back since there is not much growth in the platform and I can't take the whale circle-jerking party. Besides, there are a lot of platforms that work the same as steemit some are even blockchain agnostic. I will continue to share my content in Steemit.

I will continue to share my content in Steemit.

That will be great. I will follow you now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94