You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Twisted, Manipulative Mind-Fuck Of Steemit Trolls (And The Priceless Lessons They Bring)...

in #steemit7 years ago

Except, they wrap their outright rude comments in a facade of positivity to attempt controlling a frame that makes you look like the asshole if you challenge them.

3 months of consistently posting here on steemit, I've come to know to know the trolls or I don't know, some people who masked their comments as positive. Kind of easy to detect if you to read between the lines.

Would you believe that even a cheery and positive category such as travel would even attract such trolls? But then my writings are kind of mixed with my own point of view about culture, politics and social issues as I go around and observe the world. Honest and not giving a shit, so I preserved my anonymity for a reason. If you expose your background, you'd even be more prone to trolls. Given the nature of humans.

The best way is to not give them the attention they need. Good thing there are not a lot of trolls around here due to the downvote and rewards system. Just posers.

Sort:  

many different aspects to the dynamic... trolls are likely to float around seeking a source - doesn't matter to them what the topic is, if they can milk a person's emotional reactions for that high they're seeking.

re: anonymity vs. transparency - I'd say there is no absolute there, and it'd depend on the person. I've valued full transparency, have nothing to hide, and if any trolls want to attempt picking a fight, they'll be quickly running away when they realize they can't win. but that's me. could be different for other people who don't know how to most wisely respond to trolls in a way that denies them what they're seeking and calls them out on the bullshit...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65578.21
ETH 2613.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67