I Don't Understand Why Steem Isn't on the Moon Already!!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I know there is a lot of grumblings about the flaws of Steem right now - the bots, the spam, and so on. Fine.

But if you think about what the Steem blockchain has accomplished, it is really extraordinary:

  • Steem is, as far as I can tell, the first blockchain technology that has actually become a product or service that people benefit from and use in a major way.

    Think about that for a second and let your mind be blown, my friends.

    Even cryptos that are just currencies have not really produced anything useful yet. It's all potential. The grand papa of them all, Bitcoin, is not much more than a store of value, with a lot of speculation, at this point. And even Ethereum has not yet seen any any dapps be produced that are truly useful. Steem is useful and used by hundreds of thousands of people.

  • Steem has no transaction fees. That is pretty extraordinary. There are not that many cryptocurrencies that can claim that. In fact, I don't know of one (although I am no expert, and there probably are some). Even just using the platform as a simple payment system is very useful - there are hardly any delays, either.

  • Steem has a very large, passionate user base that is engaged and growing quite quickly. There are very impressive projects popping up left and right - just take a look at Utopian.io. It is absolutely incredible how quickly it has been built and grown! And that is just one example. Busy.org, chainbb, steemconnect...

  • The Steem blockchain seems to be extremely secure and stable, and has been operating and growing with barely any serious issues with quite some time now.

So....Why, oh why, does Steem have such a low value? There are TONS of alt coins that are little more than a simple blockchain, an intriguing whitepaper, and a lot of promises and potential, and they are WAY more valuable than Steem!

I simply do not understand it at all. Can someone explain this to me??

edit - I took the picture from this comment here

Sort:  

I completely agree with you... But im sure that steem is gonna shoot up soon. Still many people don't realize the value it can provide us. Still people waster their time in facebook , when they can join steemit and earn. These people would realize it soon. Upvoted and resteemed.

We were right. It's lambo moon time yo 🌒 💎🏝️🚀🚗🚘🚨🌃🌋

I also agree with you. actually people don't realize what is steemit. But that people most time waste facebook/twitter or youtube. Although YouTube ine of the best site for work. but YouTube support is 2 type people 1 is content creator and 2nd is auddience. But steemit is both.

I think that it takes a lot of time to learn about steemit. Posting takes time to learn as well. There is a huge learning curve. In terms of usefulness I would agree there is "some" content that we can learn from. A majority of it is junk, and it's challenging to find your niche at times.

Many people are not writers. Many die hard-blog enthisiasts are hardcore on quality (annotated, footnoted, sources). Some are hardcore on circle friendships and reward only each other. The rewards are shared by the top and little unfortunately goes to the lower half.

STEEM/SBD/STEEM POWER need explanation from new users who have no idea about the platform. I would love to see a steem wallet app, I think that is really needed. That would mimick these so called other alt-coins with no "REAL" benefit.

In other words, time is money and people dont necessarily want to invest into that if there is no instant reward or they have to sit down and really learn about what it is all about. Just my two cents (literally)

All good points. But still, there are literally tons of coins that are trading at a much higher value that literally do nothing and are simply a promise from some devs and a nice whitepaper. I don't get it.

Wild west speculation. I have yet to see an alt-coin that didn't dump soon after it came onto an exchange. In all honesty BTC is antiquated already. I mean the withdrawal fee and the time to do so is really absurd. Now BTC Cash was on top because it was faster; but now BTC is claiming that have figured it out themselves.

One guy was promoting Digibyte because the technology is so much better/faster .. but in the end it's a real shit-coin one I am happy I got out of - only because it lost value even though technically it is better. Everything is just speculative and people have fear of missing out. That's all that is going on. At the end of the day and I'm sorry to say, but my FIAT cash does more for me on a daily basis than crypto. There is no such thing as decentralization if a person owns a majority of any coins. Steem is no exception either. If a whale decides they don't like something, or powers down.. well everyone else is effected.
It's all smoke and mirrors at this point.

well, this is a tangent, but there is no such thing as decentralized power in a world with money in it. think about it. you could make it so that every person on steem had the same impact, and maybe even make sure there are not duplicate accounts, but a rich person could still just hire people and pay them to vote on what he tells them, and get power that way. Money is power, that's just the world we live in.

My friends who mine bitcoins for years, also didn’t know what steem is, so I described to them.

I totally agree with your view on steem. In comparison to all the other altcoins, which I personally never used there service, steem is really giving a lot of value to its users. I hope that investors soon will see the potential of the upcoming projects like utopian.io , SMT and community groups.

I guess this is not original? Haha

This post has received a 26.56 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @dhouse

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This is a good question, and sometimes I think this too..... Why?
And we have here just something 450 000 accounts. Steem must have something 3..or...4 million accounts.

This post has received a 10.47 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @dhouse.

Is this true? i am confuse

Is what true? I think everything I wrote is true

okay i bealived you......

thnx reply me i like your comments......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64657.99
ETH 3153.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59