You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Needs to Change its Reward System to Better Incentivize Intelligent Discourse in Blogs: The Comment Section Should Be the Lifeblood of Steemit, Pledge 50% of my rewards to top Commenters

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I agree. I hold a view that interesting content will itself start a chain of good discussions. As you rightly pointed out that interesting content is hard to find.

Reward for a good comment exists here. Only that the person with good steem power needs to upvote the comment which is also the case with blog post. I have seen comments getting awarded $300 to $700.

Upvoting is also a strategy here. One who upvotes at the right time earns more. If they start upvoting left right and center they lose the potential reward.

I agree with you on this problem. Somehow this needs to change to promote healthy discussions.

The book "Built to Last" covers this in detail. The great companies who stand test of time do so only because of higher objectives. If they just think of reward and profit they would end up like other 95% of companies which get closed down within 5 years.

Steemit is built now. Whether it is "Built To Last", that is an interesting question? Time will tell. I hope it succeeds. I am rooting for it.

Sort:  

Good to know some comments get upvoted that much. But it still pales in comparison to the top blogs, and I assume the comments were more well thought out and had better ideas than the blogs themselves.

I too hope Steemit succeeds. I just think there needs to be an incentivization shift to motivate people monetarily rather than just hope they do it for intellectual curiosity or because it's right. Need some people to make sacrifices, and I'm trying to do that now with the payouts.

As of right now this blog is getting $0.77, of which I'd pay you $0.39 for being the sole commenter. How would be the best way to do that? Also how long do blogs/comments continue getting money?

I have not see old posts getting recognized often. The best bet is within 12 to 24 hours. Also that amount you see will get lowered by the time payout is done. Unless, if you get more upvotes (I hope you do).

Thank you for your wish to share your reward with me. I would advise you no to do so.

It was my pleasure to interact with you. I have a better option. Remember my account name which is also one of my nick names in real life.

When I post something and you discover it and like it, upvote it and comment on it. When I discover something brilliant from you I will do the same. I followed you now.

You can manage some stats by visiting www.steemstats.com

You can see who followed you and who you are following and their activity.

Just remember a Steemit fried from India called Dev. It was nice talking to you Ryan.

To send someone money, go to the Wallet tab on your home screen, then click the currency you'd like to send, and choose Transfer from the drop-down menu. The rest should be pretty self-explanatory.

Replying here because steemit caps responses at depth 4 for some unknown reason.

Seems like I can just convert some to steem and transfer it over. Already pledged it and I truly believe promoting good comments is the best way to improve this site so I will follow through.

Also, as the post I linked early in my article states, the follow button doesn't actually do anything at this point. It doesn't show when posts from a person pop up. But I have followed you as well

That is why I mentioned about

https://steemstats.com/

For now it does serve some purpose if one is interested to pursue in that direction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55