The First So.Cal Steemit Meetup

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

SCsteemitmeetup.jpg

Growing the SoCal Steemit community

So my buddy @rt395 lives part of the time in Japan and part of the time in California. On his last trip to Japan he had hosted a few meet ups with some other Steemians out there. So when he got back here to California we started talking about trying to do the same thing here to help build the Southern California steemit community. So we put out an invite to any SoCal steemians. We had 6 people interested, but only 3 were able to make it. I know that's pretty small, but hey... we gotta start somewhere!

me.jpg
Me with my Steemit shirt on, ready to go

We decided on Buffalo Wild Wings restaurant in Orange for the meetup location...

IMG_6430.JPG
Buffalo Wild Wings

We had me, @rt395 and @csusbgeochem1. Us 3 have a bunch of similar interests so we got along really great. Chatting away from one topic to another. I showed off some of my gold and @rt395 showed off some of his gems. That was way cool!

gems.jpg
Some of Rt395's gems

We had some really good food and drinks and discussed many Steemit and crypto currency related topics. But our main focus was planning out how to grow and help the SoCal Steemit community.

IMG_6441.JPG
Delicious nachos!

image.jpg
@rt395, me, and @csusbgeochem1

So one of our main ideas was to start a new steemit account @SoCalSteemit to promote and support our fellow SoCal steemians as well as starting a SoCal Steemit discord server. So if you are reading this and you are from SoCal and would be interested in joining the community be sure to follow the @SoCalSteemit account and join the discord server to meet other SoCal steemians and help grow this community into something great! I'm really looking forward to meeting you all.

Join the SoCal Steemit community today!

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

SWM.png Map - !steemitworldmap 33.827335 lat -117.837524 long 'Buffalo Wild Wings' D3SCR
Steemit World Map

Sort:  

I was bummed we had to cancel. Sometimes work sucks (but hey, it pays the bills).

Next time!

I know how that is. Hopefully we'll see you guys next time!

Yes! Very excited for next time!

So excited to see a new community budding from this. Many friendships will be made through this and I can't wait to see the next gathering! Eventhough it's three of you, but it is still a start! Next time, there will be more for sure.

You have my support!

Go #socalsteemit!!

Thanks Zord!! I'm super excited. I think this is gonna be great.

Ha! I was just thinking earlier today about how Steemit needs to be more social. Awesome! When I meet up with @davedickeyyall to smoke a J we'll call the first ever Rockies meetup! :D

P.S. I posted one of your tunes today. :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=derekrichardson
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-first-so-cal-steemit-meetup


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow...congrats to your team

I'm sure it will be a great community. @rt395 is a great guy, I am very sure of it. great greetings from me for her

Seems like there is an LA group on meetup as well. I live with a few steemians, I will see if I can drag at least one of them to a meet up some time. I have gotten some artist and animator friends to sign up as well; although they usually sign up and then are like "OK what next"?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61397.32
ETH 3382.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48