Scarlett Letter? Need self vote shaming tool!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I suspect self-voting is an issue.

We all do it but I hope I am also spreading some votes to others. When @bitcoiner made steemdown it shed light on whales who were flooding the market. We need a selfie shaming site!
image

Don't Underestimate Public Humiliation

When I started in finance I had a boss who would yell at three of us at a time in his office. It was embarrassing to be berated in earshot of your coworkers. My football coaches used the same tactic. Drill sergents, I have heard, are no strangers to it's effectiveness. @bitcoiner used this tactic effectively (if unintentionally I presume) in steemdown. In days gone by the threat of the scarlet letter or the stocks might have deterred wayward pilgrims. In short public humiliation can work.
image

Selfie-Shame

Let's create a new website that list the top 200 self voters. For all the voters in the last 24 hours we can calculate wha percent of their votes were self votes (selfies) or to others. Now some self votes might be to alternative accounts. We'll ignore that at first but if we see concentrated voting like 90 % going to anonymous 123 perhaps that should make the list.

image

Daily Selfie Shame Post

Next we take the top 5 daily offenders and show pie graphs of their votes for the last week. I doubt anyone wants to be on this list. Some guardians of the platform might actually start flagging them if they are draining a large portion of rewards.

image

What We'll Find

I suspect we'll initially see lots of 90-100 percent self voters. Most will be from small or new accounts. But hopefully not too many big ones on the list.

This should bring down selfie rates

I don't want to be anywhere near this list. If you can keep self votes to under 25-30% I think that's good. It means even if you vote your comment and your post you are also voting for others at twice the rate. I think that's sufficient to spread the money around and keep the platform dynamic.
image

Thoughts?

Sort:  

There certainly needs to be something done to increase the consequences of self voting. Could you potentially use an economic solution?
Here are some thoughts:

  1. a self vote still works, but it counts the same as voting 10x as far as deterioration goes.

  2. A self vote converts steem to steempower - perhaps to selfvote you have to hold steem, and when you self vote the same amount of value your vote is worth is automatically converted to steem power. For some this would add a step to self voting - Actually thinking about this perhaps something like this would help drive more voting for other content?

  3. Self voting doesn't earn you any money because it pulls from your SP then puts it into the "escrow" of a vote until that post pays out. Although the post still gets "paid" it doesnt actually earn you anything. Also doing this on some percentage basis?

Just some ideas - I think Public Humiliation is great way to start though.. and we wouldn't even need a fork!

nice ideas. The platform has been moving in the direction to becoming more simple rather than more conplex. I like the first the best. That seems pretty easy to implement though his could be avoided easily by a Sybil attack(lots of small so accounts). So because of that it might not be worth implementing.

haha! brilliant idea. I am relatively new here (approx. 3 weeks old) and i didnt really get everything, so I left the default 50 / 50 vote selection on. I turn it off now. As for the selfies... I am not a fan, but if I have a glass of wine in my hand, then it is TOTALLY acceptable hey ;) because its all about the wine anyway :) lol

Great post!

I believe in spreading the upvotes around but also it is OK to upvote your own posts too.
So long as you are sharing your upvotes and not upvoting only for your own posts or comments...if you are doing that, then that is very bad manners on Steemit.
I see those who vote for their own posts and comments as no different really than those who automatically upvote certain members posts simply because they are in a certain 'trail' or 'community voting group', this is also depriving the other members of upvotes too....Is there really a difference between self voting and communal voting, both do take away some of the upvote pool.

Yeah I agree. We all like to make a little money in the site. Voting for comments also makes them more visible but I think. 2 to 1 or 3 to 1 ratio is healthy for the platform. I totally agree he vote bots is a lot more unhealthy. That almistvkilled the platform early this year. - it was toxic!

Congratulations @dennygalindo! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Who is the bigger 'lamer'??? The person who has 'one' vote on all of his posts, or 'none'???
I guess it's all in your perspective...

"Hey, look! I've already got a vote on the above post..."

"And on the one above, as well. I'm trending!!!"

Hello please if you can help me by voting for my challenge, it's for a contest thanks. https://steemit.com/retovenezuela/@lenyfl/reto-venezuela-3-mi-grito-de-libertad

Please don't comment leaving links to content that is not relevant to the post or the comment thread, it is rude, and it will annoy the community....you don't to annoy the Steemit community. Just trying to be helpful. Good luck in your Steemit journey.

I almost wrote this too although I have done it for people I know!

WILL BE YOUR BOYFREIND FOR STEEMIT VOTES...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87