Steemit, Free Speech, Censorship and.... Comment Spam

in #steemit7 years ago

Since Steemit is a social content site, it's pretty inevitable that there will be a share of users who join up with the single-minded determination to "use" or "game" the system to earn a few dollars.

SteemitLogo

This morning, I ran into a few examples of what many would call "comment spam."

Truth in disclosure: I really do not like mindless spammers! In this case, it was not that this particular individual was trying to sell anything (although they MAY be), but they go around and leave hundreds of comments that might look something like this:

"Cool post, thanks for the info! Upvoted and followed!
Please upvote and follow my posts!"

Generally, the comments are identical and just copied and pasted to each post they "grace."

Personally, I find them a bit annoying and cluttering, even if they are basically "harmless" (aka: no malicious links or sales pitches) and only serve to get the user's name plastered all over the place... in hope, I suppose, of gaining followers.

Columbine
Purple Columbine, Colorado

I don't see such "comments" adding any value to the community. So should they be downvoted into oblivion, by the greater community?

But Isn't Steemit is about Freedom of Speech and Being Censorship Free?

Of course, then I got to thinking about the "ideal" of Steemit, and what it stands for.

Part of what we highlight here is precisely that members have freedom of expression, and that can contribute content and ideas that perhaps are too controversial or "out there" for platforms like Google+, Facebook or YouTube.

I know we already have numerous members who are "refugees" from these platforms where they had accounts banned.

Which leads to the extended idea that ostensible "comment spam" is just another form of "freedom of expression," right?

I mean, nobody was harmed; nobody's lying on the floor, bleeding out. On aggregate, we might say that comment spam is harmless.

Colorado
Rocky Mountain creek, Colorado

So What do we DO About Comment Spam?

But is it really harmless?

One obvious argument is that we should merely "ignore" comment spam and the person doing the posting will eventually get tired of almost no results, and their posts not being followed-- hence no money.

But it's not that simple, because we have bots cruising the platform, and they cast upvotes for anything simply because "it exists." So the spammer will get some minimal results.

You might thinks "Yeah, but not enough to count!"

I respectfully disagree... a lot of the time, the individuals who engage in spamming like this are the same people who think earning ONE CENT for doing tiny tasks on Amazon's "Mechanical Turk" is a good deal... even if they are getting five cents an hour.

I bring this up because I have previously seen user-generated content sites like Steemit become a wasteland because there was no organized approach (or policy) in place to deal with comment (and other forms of) spam. I'm serious here... spammers can invade a site like a swarm of locusts and sink the entire ship.

So, I'm basically just bringing this up for discussion and consideration.

What do YOU think? Is comment spam a problem we should be concerned about? Should there be a site-wide guideline for what to do with it? Do you feel like comment spam can be a detraction from the potential success of a site, like Steemit? Have you been part of other venues (Tsu, Bubblews, Squidoo, others...) that were "killed" (in part, or in full) by spam-like activity, unchecked? Leave a comment and share your experiences-- start the conversation!

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise specified. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

Lots of times I couldn't understand if the person writes himself, or it's bot doing it for him, cause in one case we had a conversation, and in another there were just spam posts. But I must say that sometimes I like the post, but can't think of something to say exept "good post" or "awesome work". That happens when my english is too poor to express real feelings:)

And I certainly leave short comments sometimes, as well. But to me that is different from someone who just copies the SAME comment to 300 posts in order to perhaps be "seen."

You're right, it's different. Especialy when someone asks to upvote his content - I really feel uncomfortable.

@denmarkguy the solution is simple. Follow what instagram has done to check this. If you try and copy paste a comment 3 times or so, A pop-up appears and tells the user something like "youve typed this before" dont remember the exact words. So this kind of forces the spammer to change his comment after every 3 posts, otherwise the comment doesnt go through. This applies only when commenting on other peoples posts. If you are replying with a "Thank You :)" as a reply to your own posts comments received, instagram makes an exception. You can post Thank You as many times. Maybe SteemIt needs some AI

Something along those lines might be a good thing to have. Or, perhaps, it is also possible to completely disable "paste" into an input box... making it only viable to put something there if you are actually *typing."

Completely disabling "paste" would be too harsh..

I agree completely. Current users need to make use of the flag feature if they disagree with rewards.

"Cool post, thanks for the info! Upvoted and followed!
Please upvote and follow my posts!"

Comments like this are objectively terrible, sometimes they earn a few cents but only at the cost of the reward pool. Flags shouldn't be taken so harshly, they are not just for spam; flag posts you think are earning too much!

Thanks for flagging my last post - i now understand why - your approach Current users need to make use of the flag feature if they disagree with rewards. is nice task -happy flagging then @kylie.anderson..........

Aside from the fact that such comments leave a lot of "dust" around a site, they also tell a potential user looking for the first time that a venue is "a haven for spammers." It has the potential to create a negative cycle in which the quality contributors slowly get disgusted and leave, while the spammers dominate more and more of the landscape...

You make good points...... sigh....

I try at times to do my part and SAY something to the people who mindlessly just post a pasted video or jpeg image with nothing in the comments of their post, no anything..... and usually check their account tabs for their activity before saying anything, to TRY to help.;

I did it today again, I can only handle so much stuff like you that is clogging the blockchain and the newsfeeds wasting a lot of time....

in this attention based economy.

Frankly, I was going to write a post about this, this week likely the same as you today.

@barrydutton, some of my "intolerance" (if you wan to call it that) comes from years and years of moderating and being an admin in large web groups and forums... and becoming very aware of the distinct difference between those who authentically wish to contribute something, and those who simply post endless streams of pictures, quotes and mindless memes... all without any explanation, because they are nothing more than insecure attention whores. In systems that spools content by "latest contribution at the top" it clutters a group feed with nonsense.

I'm not advocating censorship, but I do have a measure of concern that "fluff" can drown out more in-depth content... which, in itself may not be such a problem... but I've seen it starting to annoy "serious" contributors, so they start leaving, and then we end up not with a balance but with only junk.

Sure it's an "attention based economy," but how about getting that attention for something worthwhile, rather than just blowing hit air?

Honestly, I usually don't pay attention to the comments like "followed, please upvote and follow me" as the same way I do on other social media. Here I usually upvote and follow just what/who I like. If someone ask me to follow him/herself, sorry, but if I don't like what he/she wrote I don't follow.
Sure, at the same time I appreciate every comments even if they are just a "nice post/awesome pics/etc" because I know that there are more people (as me ^^) who are not native English and maybe they have some difficult to find the right words to espress their toughts ^^

I'm really OK with a short comment, as long as it's evident that the person actually read and is giving feedback to the content. What's annoying is when I can go to someone's profile and see that they basically leave the exact same comment on a photo of a dog, as they do on an analysis of "War and Peace."

I totally stay aware that there are many not-native English speakers here (myself included!) so I do interpret things "in context."

I totally agree with you about this ;)

The flag is intended for spam. Generic copy/paste comments without any relevance to the content they comment upon and a plea for upvotes are spam. However, a reply stating the cause for a flag would be appropriate in case it is just a newcomer to blogging and not an actual malicious user.

Oh, and BTW, nice post. Upvote & follow me plz!

runs away, giggling

@jacobtothe, thanks for the comment, following!

I just haven't seen any particular consensus on treatment of such comments, although I totally agree it's spam. And it does make any site look a bit dodgy, if allowed to reach any kind of volume...

This would be where responsible use of flags can make spam invisible. If spammy newcomers doesn't respond to constructive replies, their comments can be flagged to the point where they're automatically hidden. It isn't censorship to indicate disapproval for abusive behavior that way.

hahahaha, you are a trouble maker Jacob LOL

I share your concerns - even small for now - when the masses come to steemit we might have a problem - good thing we can down vote and finally use flagging for something really good (no criticism of the whale experiment which i still support).

@uwelang, I would agree that this might become more of an issue when the "masses" come onboard.

My "horror story example" was a previous attempt (circa 2012) to create a social network that pays for posting by a company named Bubblews. All was fine and good till the co-founders went on a bit of a publicity tour... resulting in about 700,000 new accounts in a few weeks. MANY of them were just there to exploit the system... and when 90% of the content was suddenly plagiarized/spammy, all the legitimate contributors left in disgust. It's one of the reasons I am very cautious around the appropriate marketing angle... too much emphasis on "the money" tends to bring a low quality crowd.

Yeah i know about that, a similar thing happened with tsu (massive influx of spammers) and 3tags - one closed (but based on other facts), the other stopped their reward model so all spammers left or were deleted.

If i see new flagger pros here like the one in your comment chain here I am not sure what is worse though

I have seen a bit of this off and on since July. I haven't seen enough of it yet to be truly concerned. I have seen people come who do that, and then afterawhile I no longer see their comments. They either started doing somerhing different or they are no longer here. They may just be hibernating as well.

At this point, Steemit is perhaps not big enough, or "known" enough for it to be a major issue. It also may be that the fact that we don't get paid in ready fiat USD makes it complicated enough to not be attractive to spammers, en masse... but it's still something to be aware of. I've seen-- up close and personal-- how "they" can totally lay waste to the content of a good platform.

Yeah it might become an issue. Though I've seen how effective @cheetah was in dealing with it at the post level, so I am fairly confident if it becomes a problem we can deal with it.

Agreed. And I'd like to think there are enough of us who care about the long term health of Steemit to actively step in and curate spam appropriately, should it become a major issue.

I think let the readers make evaluate about it. I also feel bored when read or see an author always post the same thing (ex : always post photos of bugs, flowers etc in very low qualitity ). I mean they post only merely to get a reward and utilize their network to gain massive upvote. Yes I agree with you, mostly or may be they are "refugee" from other social media platform. Nice ! :)

Thanks for your insights... yes, there are going to be many kinds of users on Steemit. Whereas I like to try to create the "best possible" posts for my own benefit, I also know that the long term survival of Steemit as a social content platform is going to have a higher chance when the content is generally "good" or "interesting," as opposed to garbage.

Oh and I wanted to say you did a nice job formatting this post, I have not tried the word wrapping yet - think about it.....

but more work LOL

Have a good day, good post, again, by you.

Thanks-- just a hangover from the days of hard coding web pages in HTML, before the luxury of the widget-driven web. It's a little more work, but I'm used to it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60973.26
ETH 2366.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58