Rejecting a conventional job for Steemit and Online Freelancing.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

image.png

About three days ago I found myself in a difficult position where I had to make a choice between two almost impossible decisions. Either I take a conventional well paying job that was being offered by my former boss during my attachment period or continue hacking it by being an online freelancer and using Steemit.

First of all, having a conventional job gives you some security of an income. All you have to do is appear in the office, do your part, and at the end of the month, you have money in the bank. However, for someone like me who does not enjoy feeling trapped and being at the mercy of someone else's generosity, this was something I did not feel like doing at all. My parents, however, since they hardly understand how you can actually make money online would actually prefer to see me take up the offer. They insisted on it.

Parents can be very convincing. They obviously do not want to see you struggle in life. Most actually want to see you go through the normal work routine; waking up in the morning, putting on a suit and taking public or private transport to the office in the CBD. That to them is what comprises working.

They have almost zero concept of cryptocurrencies, blockchain technology, and working online. To them any money that is not physically available to you is a scam or like they like to call it, a Ponzi scheme.

One time when I was trying to teach them about Steemit and help them understand why I preferred it over WordPress, they were quick to insist that I actually cash in my SBD to prove it wasn't a scam. Once I did this in front of them still they did not believe me and continued to try and get me to take up an office job.

My choice was very difficult because there is much to consider. I have to think about bills, savings, development goals and targets that I have set for myself in life. While those may be very important to me one thing that I refuse to give up is my happiness.

Every single day for the three months that I reported to the workplace during my attachment felt like a chore. I had zero interest in what I was doing and the only thing that kept me going was the friendship I had fostered with my two colleagues in the office.

Life should never feel like a chore. Waking up every day should never feel like a chore. Doing something that you love and are passionate about almost guarantees that you will enjoy your life. It might be harder, it might take a longer time but at the end of it, all the satisfaction that you get is worth it all.

It is because of this reason that I chose to say no to my boss and go against all the social norms and forge a different path. I choose to etch a new path doing what I love; being creative, blogging on Steemit, programming and starting my own business.

This path may not be for everyone. You need to have self-drive, a strong mentality, and a very positive mindset. As I restructure my goals for the rest of year I look forward to the immense success that I believe I will achieve.

Alluta Continua.


Thank you for getting this far. I hope you all have a nice and profitable day on Steemit and see you in the next one.


image.png
Support Community Curation Project @boosterke for Steemit Kenya with an SP delegation, Steem or SBD.

Would you #Follow, #Upvote or #Resteem me? I hope to see you in the next one!

Sort:  

Your post was selected to be included in my "Diamond in the Rough" series. It's goal is to promote high-quality posts made by new steemians (red fish and minnow) thereby helping them get the exposure they need to grow and thrive within the Steemitverse. You may check the related post Diamonds in the Rough @sandalphon.

Much appreciated sandalphon. Thank you.

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

You'll be fine. Wishing you all the best!

I hope so. This are unchartered waters for me. Thank you for the good wishes.

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

I am actually going through that right now. But We all know what the better option is. Nothing like freedom and autonomy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65