The cave troll quest - reward pool abuse - steemit & a potential resolution idea!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Unless you joined steemit last week or have not looked outside your own posts, there is a battle that has been raging for months.

Over the last two months or more, the haejin debacle has pretty much engulfed steemit, and I would like to offer up a solution to this problem.

In the hope of a miracle of biblical proportions and this article actually getting read by anyone with any power on here, I will tag some names and hopefully 1 or more might actually come along and add some thoughts to this idea.

I have seen many debates on this subject, some saying @ned should step in, others saying it is a decentralized platform and that would ruin the nature of the site etc etc, I saw a post by @papa-pepper saying the 4 post limit idea was maybe needed to be brought back.

@tarazkp wrote a very interesting article suggesting whales could delegate sp to a mutual account to downvote on behalf of the community https://steemit.com/steemit/@tarazkp/helsing-governance-ideas-good-bad-whales-needed.
I would like to tag @themarkymark in here & also @sircork as these two people seem the most committed in my eyes, to ending this problem and stand-off situation.
@hendrix22 - @lyndsaybowes have spent over 2 months selflessly down-voting on the behalf of the community and this is now getting to a damaging situation as community leaders like @fulltimegeek had to pull his sp back that was benefiting - only he knows how many people.

Enough already man you cry - okay.

thought-2123970_960_720.jpg

I read this article today about a different blockchain, that is decentralised & is run by the community with standards set by the community, it is different though with this unique idea I would like to put forward here, as a way to end this and future disputes. To be a witness takes votes, what would be the difficulty in setting up a vote also for frustrated steemians to have a voice on a decision to take action against any member they feel is rewarding themself with very low quality content? would this be possible or viable?. You can read the full article here http://thefintechtimes.com/phore-bootsrapped-decentrilised-and-community-governed/

I know there is not a single whale or dolphin that has not seen what is going on, and I also respect the fact most do not want to step in as they want to use their stake in a more positive way. Fine, though if we set up this vote system, at least @ned would then be able to step in and help, without looking like he is policing the site, as we would be voting for help, from anyone that wants to help, if @dan can and did join in, why can @ned not if we are asking him to? if not @ned then we could revisit the idea that @tarazkp put forward earlier in this post.

Even small fry like me delegated 50 sp to try to help, and I only had 100 in total, how many of me are there doing that? admittedly I am plankton or what ever you want to call me, I still tried to help.

Is this vote system a possibility is all I am asking here, I hope some dolphins or whales hear my cry, as the life at the bottom of the pond is suffering and drying up, without the majority of us small fry, steemit would become stale, and you would only have a handful of people left, help us out here and give us some hope.

Minnows and even new steemians are having their accounts destroyed by this war, and how many have left due to this is anyone's guess, I was downvoted on 3 posts I made and even promoted with bidbots, why was I downvoted by heajin, uradick and btu? for talking to @hendrix22 in a comment thread on one of hendrix posts, I was not calling heajin out, I did not even mention him, so I was downvoted on my own posts for guilt by association. It took a last minute saviour in @fulltimegeek to seemingly come from nowhere and upvote my posts a few moments after they were downvoted to save me. I never asked, he somehow knew what was going down and helped out.

So is the vote system feasible?. Ideas in the comments section as always.

Remember the start of that article? a democratic voting system "We spoke to Anthony Alleyne, Co-CEO of Phore Blockchain, a growing technology organization which has a democratic voting system within its community and has just launched a strategic b2b blockchain development services arm."

As always, love - peace & respect to all.

Image courtesy of www.pixabay.com and open to fair use.
The bike is mine.

20150620_123245.jpg

Sort:  

Great thoughts, I kinda like the limit post idea, I think it can help somehow, thanks for taking the time to stand and help the community, keep it up my friend!

Cheers my friend, there was a post limit of 4 on here, then it was voted to be got rid of, so why not a vote on reward pool abuse also. :-)

The only viable solution in my opinion is a software one. How can someone who has invested in steem be expected not to garner all the profits that an investment offers? It would not be my approach, not being a self voter, yet they cannot be blamed for what the system allows.

A simple limit on daily rewards in relation to an agreed percentage of the reward pool should do it. What would be interesting is to see what kind of Witness support such a fork would receive. 😎

Interesting thoughts, we shall see if anyone comes along and offers ideas here.

I'm so grateful for everything you have done to help, you have a real backbone @deliberator!!

I just wish I had the pull power to engage the big fish, though steemit resembles society does it not? I am little so I will not be heard.

All the little things add up, don't discount your power!

though steemit resembles society does it not? I am little so I will not be heard.

With humans involved it should be expected to mirror society somewhat, yet it is a great space to try algorithms and approaches to better manage transparent distributed ledgers. We are breaking new ground we Blockchain Explorers. 😎

Technics used on this platform to help find consensus could have far reaching influence in the decentralized future.

I really do hope you are right on this.

The problem is structural, the rules in the code. Chasing 1 or 2 bad actors does nothing but burn part of the reward pool. The bid-bots, that so many people are using, are an ever worse problem as they consume more and more of the reward pool, and make it impossible for curation to compete for impact or rewards. The problems will either get worked out in HF20 -- or not. The Hivemind and SMTs may go a long way to taking care of the problems. But if they don't, there will be other platforms emerging over the next year or two.

I am writing a post along those lines, with a few bits extra I want to throw in, as I feel a little bit like steemit has lost it's way. I hope you stop by and take a look at that post, later in the week, for now though, I have lost my steemit "mojo" and do not feel like posting anything of note.

I hope you find your mojo. Steemit can be tough on us all! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99