"The Power of Steem" : Help us teach Cyprus about Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago

Steemians we're translating this article into Greek to teach Cyprus about Steemit! I've been commissioned by @patrickm to write an article and we have a network of more than 100 000 young adults in Cyprus through our combined social networks.

I'm taking care to keep the article informative yet also explain the amazing benefits of the Steem blockchain in a simple way.

The Future of Money

Have you ever considered the possibility that in the near future you could choose to earn your salary in Bitcoin? Or that you could buy clothes with Etherium? Or have you considered that you could make some extra money posting your videos and music on Steemit?

If you have no idea what I'm talking about then you're not alone. I urge you to prepare yourself, though, because for better or worse money is changing forever. A new type of money called cryptocurrency is gaining momentum. Bitcoin, the world's first completely digital currency has been around for more than 10 years and it's gained a widespread acceptance across the globe.


There has been a massive increase in cryptocurrency trading
Source: coinmarketcap.com

In April 2017, Japan recognised Bitcoin as a legal payment method and soon other countries will follow. The world is starting to recognise that cryptocurrency is here to stay.

I wanted to invest, but at that point I didn't understand how it worked and where the money was coming from. I had a lot of unanswered questions and I didn't have much disposible income anyway.

The Power of Steem

Then one day, I found out there was a way to earn cryptocurrency without spending any money at all. Honestly, it sounded way too good to be true. I was curious, though and I figured I had nothing to lose, so I decided to look a little closer.

Steem is a social media based cryptocurrency. Basically, you can post your photo blogs, artwork, music and video and you can earn money for it.


I wrote the story of how I became a divemaster

I was skeptical at first about this "magic internet money" as Rolling Stone calls it, but my friends Patrick (@patrickm) and Matt (@starkerz) convinced me that it was the real thing and so about a month ago I joined the Steemit community.


Rolling Stone

I was determined. I've always wanted to write about my travels so I put a lot of time into my introduction post and it was amazing to finally have the chance to tell my story.

When I wrote about how I became a divemaster, the story hit the trending page! Obviously I was elated, but soon I realised it was not so easy to repeat the process. I kept posting and I had some success, but for a week or so I was a bit lost and unsure how to continue.


The reply to my blog about @platonicsironic

I posted one of my old animations and I only got one meaningful comment, from @artwatch. The fact that someone had watched and enjoyed my work inspired me and helped me realise the thing I'd been missing the whole time. I needed to connect with the community.

As soon as I changed my attitude I started connecting with people. When I did a feature on @platonicsironic, she even responded with a comic.


** Totally original doodle by @platonicsironic**

I've written 10 art blogs so far and they were all successful. Even the posts that took a lot of time and didn't make a lot of money still rewarded me with new friends who actively look out for my posts and support me. So is Steem the future of money? Maybe it is, maybe it isn't, but either way it's a bold step into the future.


My 10th Art Blog

Most recently I've been doing the graphics for an exciting new video series, called Decentralize in 5 to teach the world about cryptocurrency. Please have a look and support this project - follow @starkerz for new episodes every week.

Introduction video: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@starkerz/decentralize-in-5-introduction-spreading-blockchain-tech-to-newbys

Thanks for reading, please resteem, upvote and tell me what you think in the comments.

Sort:  

Decentralize bro! @deimus

Yeah bro, Cyprus first then all over the world!

And I can't wait to see more, you got some skills boy. Down the line I was gonna do a "Do's and Don'ts of featuring artists on this site. I am going to use you as an example of how to properly feature artists. Some features people have been doing to me lately is just taking my work and not even telling people my name with a generic source link to my account. Their feature was almost minutes after I put my work up.... and they made more money off my work then I even had the opportunity to. (I don't even think that is legal- not under fair use anyways) They came to me expecting me to upvote and follow not even making a comment on the work they just took. I was devastated that afternoon.

I want to show people that your way will probably garner you more success because you are truly highlighting the artist. Not only that but your not a wambam thank you mam kinda feature - If people watch they can tell you genuinely care about the art community here. Reaching out and giving feedback and so forth.

You should definitely write that article, I've seen a lot of artists complaining and despite the fact that I do my homework on those features, I've always been concerned that my blog could be taken badly. Thankfully I've always had a positive response from the artists.

I'm always hoping to write in a way that's mutually beneficial. I just reached 100 followers but it feels like a lot more, because I get a lot of support.

Plagarism is a big problem though and it's not as easy for the bots to descide whether it's fair use or not. We need to flag these guys to oblivion when they post and it won't last long.

I like a good feature when it is done right.
Here are 5 reasons why I don't think artist are going to have a hard time feeling positive about your features.

  1. You make it clear it is not your work and that the purpose of the feature is to help them gain followers and support

  2. You call the artist by their names, you get to know their life story and fully critique them.

  3. You keep the artists in your past features in future posts... so in a way every time you feature someone new you are actually also doing a mini feature of the artists you already covered every week. It is like a commercial for those artists every couple days.

  4. You properly link - with their names

  5. You engage with the artists themselves and do not expect something in return from them. It is just a pay it forward feature.


If I could make suggestions it would be to perhaps add a watermark over their images that you feature saying "This is (@insertname) work go check them out on steemit. Make sure to scale the image back a bit so people have to go to the original creators work to see it in all its fine glory. Distort the image in some way with a water stamp or size to give people an excuse to go see the original. Or perhaps just a part of the image and say... "This is only a part of the artwork" if you would like to see the rest of it go and give (@insertname) a helping hand with a resteem-upvote-comment.

I have upvoted your suggestions here @artwatch and followed you- brilliant - you should definitely add that to a blog

Thank you - already doing so to you and gave you a resteem on your permaculure post.

Why thank you - glad to have you as a friend

My pleasure.

Yeah, noted, I agree with that. I like the idea of using small images, I think in future I'm planning to write a bit more anyway and then have the featured artist as the second part of the blog or something like that.

Thanks I appreciate your feedback and your support (especially the randowhale upvote).

It's really disappointing when people get away with using other people's material without even an acknowledgement @artwatch and I am glad to see that you are not just going to let it slide. Thank you for acknowledging @deimus. He puts an amazing amount of effort into his articles and he genuinely cares for and respects other peoples work.
Inasmuch as you inspired him to continue when he was despondent, I hope that he continues to inspire and assist others as he goes along.

Yeah basically her reply to me after I pointed out that I didn't like what took place was

"About asking for permission. When something is on Steem is public. No one is asking about permission for resteem" But she didn't resteem she just took the pics

https://steemit.com/chainbb-general/@taica/taicas-selection-12-share-moments-steem-life

I don't know what to do - am I wrong here?

You should flag her - that is not acceptable behaviour and also not an acceptable answer - not even an apology - shocking

I am just fearful because - maybe it starts a flagging war - I flag her she tries to flag me. If I see plagiarism on this site instead of flagging I usually do a tin-eye reverse image search to find the original creator to let them know someone is using/profiting off their work on steemit. On these matters I don't know what to do. Because she is also including a generic link to peoples work this is how she justifies it. This is where the back and forth took place. I tried to plead my case the best I could but I think it landed on deaf ears. I am sure she will keep doing her features like this https://steemit.com/chainbb-general/@taica/taicas-selection-12-share-moments-steem-life

There is a steemit help - we should appeal to them

Ah, what a great article, Jack. Very informative! All the best with enlightening Cyprus. Turn them all into Steemians!‎

Thank you, @owenkay, good to see you back!

Well done @deimus - go Cyprus - lets lead the world

This article will reach many people and teach them crypto currency. I am still learning and hope to grasp the concept fully with help like this @deimus - well done with this post

Thank you Jack, this is going for translation!

No problem! Can't wait to see how Cyprus responds.

Amazing aderfia. nice job. spread the word at Cyprus.

Thanks brother! Exciting times.

καλη επιτυχια....

@deimus Bravo agori mou! Anoixe ta miala tis kipru!! :) the more mainstream this endeavor becomes, the more accepted and therefore traded cryptocurrencies become. re read my #introduceyourself post man. I'm new on here would be cool to get a decent start and grow together san adelfia. Thanks re.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68666.90
ETH 3251.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67