Goodbye, Facebook. You're Next, Youtube.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Dean.jpg

This morning, I made a decision that would be life-altering to many people: I began the process of deleting - not deactivating - my Facebook account. This will not cause a huge change in my lifestyle. I only have ( or had) four Facebook friends, which is double the number I have had during most of the time I have used Facebook. I have mostly used it as a place to aggregate my favorite news sources. I stuck with the Zuckerberg Cartel as they constantly frustrated me by changing which stories would frequently appear in my feed. I could always find the stories if I really wanted to. However, recent revelations about the insecurity of user data, and the fact that Facebook plays favorites regarding who gets the data, is the last straw for me. I don't want anyone having access to my supposedly-secure data, but why is it suddenly a huge problem for Zuck that data was obtained by a group friendly to the current presidential administration? Why was it not similarly problematic for him when data was obtained by the past administration? I can no longer in good conscience support someone who hates me, my preferred lifestyle, and my political and religious affiliations.

Next on my list is Youtube. I have never posted a video. That's just not my thing. However, like nearly everyone else in the civilized world, I frequently view videos. Sometimes, it's just for fun and entertainment, but most of the time it is an effort to gain information on one of the topics that I consider to be important in my life. Youtube has made obvious steps toward silencing anyone whose political views are inconsistent with theirs, and this week, took aim at content related to firearms. Therefore, if I view another Youtube video, it will be an accident, or because there is content which I deem to be extremely important for me which I am unsuccessful in finding elsewhere.

Now, that leaves me with a question. If there are others who, like me, want to ditch Facebook and Youtube, what will take the place of these services? I like Steemit and Dtube, but are they ready for primetime? I have only been a member a couple of months, but there appear to be some issues that might dissuade average potential users from taking advantage of the valuable service. The first for me is the signup process. Rather than getting an account immediately in this impatient world, it took me about 10 days - long enough for me to question whether or not Steemit is legitimate or a scam. It finally came through, and I have enjoyed using it, but the first impression was anything but favorable. I thought maybe my experience was an anomaly, but the same thing happened when my wife set up an account.

I believe the time and conditions are conducive for a large scale departure from Facebook and Youtube. Will Steemit be able to take advantage of these conditions and attract a more mainstream crowd?

Sort:  

Good for you - and best from the new neighborhood...

Hi Dean, my name is Theo and I deleted my facebook over 7 and a half years ago. I had to use Google to find the link that lets you delete your facebook and NOT just deactivate it. I too live in the Ozarks with my wife. My wife is Bridget Martin. We both have accounts now. She was approved for her Steemit in just a few days but it took about a week before I was approved.

I'm still skeptic about cryptos but I like the idea of having this crypto backed social platform that is better then facebook and youtube. For the past 5 almost 6 years now I've been posting videos on my youtube channel under the same name. I plan on continuing where I left off here on D.tube and just leave my youtube channel inactive so people can still view my older material when they find me.

Congratulations @deanoffgrid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @deanoffgrid! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @deanoffgrid! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @deanoffgrid! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @deanoffgrid! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81