Sort:  

perhaps... but many are not limited to only one platform. The steemit feed is exceptionally fast moving, so you often miss a lot. This gives people another opportunity to share their posts with people that might not have seen it otherwise. In essence, it was also partly driven by the questions which I asked yesterday about "re-steeming" stuff... it isn't really possible unless it is different content, so in many ways, unless spotted immediately your work is often lost - which is a pity, because whilst not all of us are "whales" that sit at the top of the trending feed for ever and a day... there is a lot of quality content out there that in my opinion, deserves a little more attention :)

I guess its like a second chance for sharing it.

Not unlike, the "share it" options at the bottom of each steemit post anyway :)

I mean more in the sense that I've seen probably a dozen posts on how STEEM is going to replace FaceBook.

I hear you :) time will tell I suppose. In my opinion, there will always be a market for different kinds of social media and FB and Steemit are VERY different.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67