Even More of Life Isn't Fair and Neither is STEEMit

in #steemit7 years ago

It looks like I am turning this into a regular thing.



Yesterday, STEEM got a big boost in price due to Weiss, a stock and other trading asset rating company, releasing their first rating of cryptocurrencies. Only 5 coins received a rating higher than C. Steem received a B- rating and a call out in the press release that was very favorable. STEEM jump up 50% in the 24 hour percentage change and is still up over 30% today. This isn't a regular pump and dump and could lead to a higher price for STEEM later on. And, it might also lead to more people joining Steemit and becoming a Red Fish, Blue Fish. Dead Fish, Whale Fish.

Which brings me to this Life Isn't Fair article.

As a Bone Fish, Red Fish or Minnow, it is hard to get your posts upvoted. It is even harder to get high reward upvotes for your votes. Sure, you can use bots for fake upvotes or bid bots to try to get a return on your vote payment or beg someone to give you their Steem POWER, so that you can upvote yourself with a delegation power out weighing your actual Steem POWER by a magnitude. But, for the most of us, it is all about having the right followers who will upvote your article, if it is seen.

You can see that I have over 1000 followers. Apparently, that's not enough. Why do I say that?
Well, yesterday, I put out 2 article on the Weiss Ratings. Only two other people beat me for the day. Another Steemian actually made an article about it 5 days prior that we should be on the lookout for it (I wish I could link to that article, I guess I should made a comment on that).

So, being first about the news, apparently doesn't mean getting the best payout, because it is all about who you are and who is following you. The people chosen are based on what I see in my Feed and a link that @gniksivart shared with me, because he knows I like pain and suffering. As I mention before, this post isn't against any of the individuals listed, it is just point out how the system works.

DeanLogic

cryptoctopus - 1 1/2 - 2 hours later

marketingmonk - 1 day later

And even being a Witness, app maker and all around great guy doesn't insure you'll get big upvotes

dragosroua - 7 hours later

As you can see, I barely got $6 worth of upvotes for my 1,000 views. Most of my views are due to posting my article on Twitter. So, maybe we have close to 1,000 new Steemians due to my post. Would be great if there was a referal bonus or something.

@dragosroua posted 7 hours after me and even as great of a guy as he is, he only got around $20 upvote rewards. I can't be too mad at him for that, but he used almost the same headline that I did and got 162 views.

Now, @cryptoctopus posted about when everyone else was getting around to posting the news. An hour and a half to 2 hours after my post. He has 770 views, but with his $288 reward payout, my guess is that most of his was due to having over $100 payout and hitting the Trending page for the tags he used. High rewards begets more rewards.

But, @marketingmonk, coming in a day late, after the announcement, well, that's just silly. Sure, he put up a video and that takes time. But, a day later in cryptocurrency and that news might as well have been brought by Pony Express rider. Nevertheless, since he has a good following, he has earned almost $300 rewards on his 127 upvotes and 256 views so far. I'm sure he'll get more views as the day ticks by.

So, Steemians, that's the hard cold facts. You might be first and original with your content, but if you don't have the right followers with the right upvotes, you won't see much reward, if your article is lost in the weeds.


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
Steem Badges

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


DestroyAllBots.png
Trading on Bittrex and Binance
HODLin’
Stellar Lumen(XLM) -- Cardano (ADA) -- Digibyte(DGB)

Sort:  


It's NOT FAIR!
Some thoughts...a few random remarks

Steemit is what it is...bitching and whining about it won't change it.

Innovate, adapt, and over come...think of it as evolution in action. One Steemer, or even quite a few of em (depending on how much money is talking) isn't going to change things. Think of Steemit as the environment...and you can NOT change it. That being the case you (generic 'you', meaning almost everyone) must adapt to IT.

Sadly but true...MOST (and I mean 90%) of all votes cast on Steemit are by bots. Get used to it...it's the way it is.

That leaves ten percent...of whom most of them have the attention span of a gnat. I've said for decades that TV has killed the art of conversation...well conversation requires thinking...fill in the blanks. Mobile Social Media has driven more nails into it's coffin. (see attention span of gnats).

SO...to reach 90% of the ten percent (who are not 'bots) a post has to be short and sweet. Imagine that you are talking to a two year old...or a puppy.

That means that for the majority of us, until we have an extra special group of followers who can actually THINK (so rare) that in order to get votes we must...(wait for it) post a LOT. And by a lot I mean five or ten times a day if not more. Like I said...keep it short. Most of your voters won't even READ it...they just look at the title (if that)..

Game plan...post ten or twenty...'flash posts'.....then post two or three 'quality posts".
THAT is how you make money on Steemit...to start with.
THEN...IF (not when) you get a following of people who can actually think! People who have sufficient attention span to read more than one or two paragraphs...you'll start raking in the cash (as did those steemers who you referred to)

SO...to reach 90% of the ten percent
That's still 22,500 active users per month!!!

dunno about the math.
if I recall Steemit is getting more new accounts than that every month if not week.

250,000 active users is the current daily/monthly stat.
So, 90% of 10% of 250,000.

That would seem like a loft goal to get more than 10,000 users, but some people do have that many.

I have 3812 'followers' at the moment...of which I MIGHT have five...who actually read my stuff...perhaps thirty who vote on it...

all the rest of the votes and most of the comments I get are from bots..

I imagine I'm fairly typical.

If they could get rid of the open API for voting, they could do 2FA and get rid of most of the bots.

not gonna happen
the big money benifits from the bots.
the system will remain the same.
we can't change it..
innovate, adapt and over come..
or go somewhere else.

I agree 100 %.
Unfortunately..

If you can come up with a better strategy..share it.
I'm telling you what works for me.
Plus...don't forget to buy delegation..that's the SINGLE biggest factor.
The way I see it is I have a pack of puppies that follow me...and a few grown dogs..
Not very damn many adult canines either...a couple of wolves perhaps...and maybe ten or twenty other adults...the rest are puppies..... cute...but can't really string words together in a coherent fashion just yet.

Even though my Space Weather Daily Update seems long, it doesn't take me long to create. I do get more upvote rewards for longer posts that are usually stories and such. I do believe that if you pick an area and stick to it, then it eventually works better for you. I haven't done much of my garden updates because it is winter, but I will get back on those soon.

So, my thing is short effort for 90% of my posts and then some posts that take more effort.

I use templates too.
I spent YEARS writing my books...(several of them)
Now I'm posting a paragraph...or several at a time .

I've found that length doesn't matter. I get just about the same number of votes whether it's a paragraph or two or several pages..

Imagine that..the same number of votes for forty words or four hundred...

SO...use a a template to 'flesh it out'...then put a moist chewy center innit.
See what happens..

I have a template for the Space Weather post.
And if the NEOs don't change, I just copy the text from the previous day.

Exactly right..
oh
one more thang.
SelfVote to max when you post it.
Consider it 'baiting' the trap.
it'll attract bots...

I've tried it...sometimes the difference between a selfvote or not is several HUNDRED percent come payout..

I always 100% upvote. And I always upvote my post after 15 minutes and before 30 minutes.

To me, that's how I get paid for my work. Now, upvoting your own comment, that's lame.

I wouldn't do that - post 5-10 times a day that is. A lot of people use Steemvoter to automatically upvote (the robots you're talking about) I use it myself. And if I decide to put you on the steemvoter you get a 1-100% upvote on EVERY post you make. Now, if I really like your content, and give you a 100% upvote on all posts, because I know you make 1 or 2 quality posts every day and I want to support that..and all of a sudden you start making 10 crap posts every day..well, no more autovoting on you.

Other than that you're right. No point bitching about what this platform is. It is what it is. If you join this platform with 10k Steem you're going to gain followers faster and get more people to upvote.

You have to remember @deanlogic that there are two incentives to vote on this platform. 1) because you really appreciate good content and 2) because you earn on curating. A combination of the two is also possible. But people will in general give votes to where they can earn the most.

And we all struggle with getting attention and votes here. I've invested quite a lot in Steemit. Not only time and effort, but hard money. And it took me almost 8 months to get my initial investment back. Which is not bad all things considered. It goes up and down..I've had periods when I've made quite a lot..perhaps for a month or so, and then all of a sudden NOTHING.

I have almost 1700 followers, and recently I made a few posts without using upvote bots..guess how many upvoted me? Like 8. That's what happens when the incentive for people to make money curating is gone. They dont bother voting - even if the quality of the post is above par.

Accept that and keep going at it, or quit. That's my honest opinion. Complaining doesnt get you anywhere.

I actually found this post because I typed in your name in the search bar. I ACTIVELY found you this evening. I don't do that with many steemians. You are kind of an odd fellow and a cool stemian. Don't destroy that by complaining about what is.

I think it is important to remember that we are not fish. In the ocean it is rare that a fish lives on bigger fish. When that happens they are called parasites. Thank you for post, it is very telling.

Well...remoras hang around whale sharks...which for some on STEEMit seems like a good metaphor.

Just keep your eye's forward putting one foot after the other and above all else brother never quit.............

Definitely a wise statement for all STEEMians to follow.

Dang you I'm pretty much wrirting the same thing I was 75% the way done when I saw this, but the topics are mostly different.

Go ahead an post it, you'll probably get more rewards. LOL

O don't worry I was planning on it and was planning on rubbing in the rewards, but most of them are thanks to @silvergoldbotty.

D E L E - give me more to say!
G E TIO N that's the name of the game!!
DELEGATION!!

You can't go wrong in jumping on that bandwagon.

Which side?
The giving or the receiving?

Both. The upvote far outweigh the amount of sp I give up for delegations

Who are you delegating too?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44