Tips for Steemians! How to keep the draft of your OLD POST on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Okay, let me skip the process of nagging about how Steemit used to be blah blah blah ... The fact NOW is - you cannot edit a post older than 7 days. So you, the author, would be just like anyone else - a reader. What else? No one can touch it after 7 days! Says Steem blockchain. 

Are you going to show us the secret way to bypass the blockchain and alter it!? (with excitement~~~)

Of course not, you silly. Nobody, really, nobody can mess with blockchain ok!?


<source>

However, today as I dig through my old piles of posts (purpose of which is blogged here), I found out a surprise!! You can literally keep the editing status of the post even after no matter how long! This post of mine is 7 months old so it's like from the Jurassic Period of Steem and it still works (I must had left it that way during my last editing)! You still cannot edit, but you will have access to "copy and paste!!" [woohoo! the holy grail of the internet age]. This is so important to us, the muggles, right!? my fellow muggles!? :)

Follow me and I will show you ... 

See this post of mine on Nov 22, 2016. Almost 7 months ago.  [it was quite a hard time for Steem actually... not like lately]

When I clicked it today, I saw the following status (you won't see this as a reader) ... What!? What's wrong? Looks like I am still editing!! I can add texts however I like and move things around ... and I can switch it to the Raw HTML mode too!!

BUT!! This is just an illusion. When you really try to save the changes, error message appears (voice from the blockchain God!)

Still, we don't really want to edit old posts... that doesn't earn me anything, does it!? 

We just want to copy from our old posts our maybe signature, maybe useful image links or something I always like to quote, etc... and paste it to our new post. So this, be it a bug of Steemit or not, is cool to have at the moment.

BUT!! It is important to remember - once you click the CANCEL button, this status is gone forever!! FOREVER!! No~~~!!

So be very careful if you want to keep it that way for later use. It's like the trust from a woman - once you break it, you can never get it back....

And another reminder - check those recent posts near the 7 days mark and if you might copy them in the future, keep it in editing mode!!


<source:pixabay>

Steem on to the big ocean~~~ 

Sort:  

Hi i am new here and i think this post will be very useful! Thank you!

Everything was better back in the day...

Thanks, it may be useful for me in the future

glad to help. :)

really? thanks for the info
btw - depends on which woman ;)
hihi
how do we keep it in editing mode?
just x - or closing it ?

after you submit, click edit and don't cancel. then it will be in an 'edit' mode even until it is 7 days old and beyond.

I see now I get it. Thanks a lot!

It's like the trust from a woman - once you break it, you can never get it back....

情感专家?
知音刘姐姐?

糟糕!被你發現我下一個寫作的秘密武器了.... O嬸,一起來?

这个主意好呀,这个注意好
开设个情感专栏,帮人答疑解惑,促进家庭和睦
外加每天一个情感故事

別再說了你,營業機密都外洩了!

啊,一激动说漏了
快看看都谁浏览过这个贴
通通xxxx

讓我踩你一下得了, 你就不見了 LOL

it's actually a bit unfortunate you can't edit an old post, since a certain type of guide would need to be reposted many times for each change, but I guess the idea is once you have earned from posting something you can't go delete it after.

I know! both sides of arguments seem valid to me. Maybe we need more sophisticated mechanism like easily reviewed edit history available and allow the editing?

hmmm my idea would be multiple post types like blog, guide, wiki, poll, etc. and then certain ones like guide/wiki could be updated for longer periods of time

tell me about post types! I have been proposing this for ages and nothing has changed... haha!

ah too bad, I suppose we just have to cling to the idea of 'beta' and hope these kinds of enhancements can be added in time. My worry is the underlying technology could impact development where seemingly simply things like this end up as a nightmare to actually add to the blockchain, but the guys working on it seem really smart so I am hopeful it could change in time

one good real impact of high steem price is that it helps gather more resource on development. let's all hope for the best.

Very informative... Thanks
Great post

glad to be helpful. thanks!

我這些東西最熟悉的就是北海小英雄了!!! :D

你... 你應該看的是神奇寶貝之類的吧... LOL

二師兄,之前電視有撥懷舊篇,師妹我曾經喵過幾眼,你這樣透露出年齡了,這樣老道聯誼計畫就泡湯了.... ((噓

我辦聯誼,我自己不參加。<--- 老人才這樣 @@

那就改天辦個年輕活力妹子聯誼,讓你們找回年輕的感覺 :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.93
ETH 2465.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63