Sort:  

If users are voting up their own comments, it kind of defeats the purpose, right?

I used to agree, but I'm not so sure now. Yes I'd like to see people spread their votes around as well as voting for themselves.

However look at it this way; I have previously powered down a fair amount of money and do not vote for my own comments or posts anymore.

I came across someone the other day who bought 20k worth of Steem and now votes up himself on about a 3:1 ratio, so around 75% self 25% others.

His votes are now worth about $10-15, so 25% of the time, somebody gets some really nice candy, as opposed to my vote which is worth $0.21.

So even though 100% of my votes go to others, they are worth a hell of a lot less, and of course I have taken money out of the system, whilst he has bought into it.

So who provides more value?

I mean I believe I do create value through my content, and I believe the user I'm talking about creates value by investing. We both create value, just different kinds is all :-)

Cryptogee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59067.30
ETH 2504.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44