Quick Tip: What's An Upvote Worth? - How To Calculate What An Upvote Means In SP and SBD Payouts

in #steemit7 years ago

Are you confused by how every $0.01 upvote on your posts or comments affect how much Steem Power (SP) or SBD you get on each payout?

Would you like to know how to calculate it?

Well look no further as I attempt to "simplify" and "quantify" the process.

Disclaimer: For simplicity I'm not going into the wonky nuances so that I can keep most people's attention. So this explanation is "simplified" and just a guide, certainly not a white paper on the subject. ;)

First The Basics

There are two basic ways to earn on steemit, as an author or a curator. The authors get 75% and the curators get 25% of the value of that penny. (Note: curators must cast their votes at least 30 minutes AFTER the post/comment to get the full curation benefit).

So you make a post or comment (this means you are the "author") and somebody upvotes you and you can see the values in your blog (see below)

)

Or you make an upvote on something you want to reward (this means you are the "curator"). Remember in order to get credit for this curation, you must cast it AFTER the post is 30 minutes old (otherwise some or all of it will go to the author).

Then you wait 7 days after that post or comment and steemit pays you out in STEEM POWER (SP) and STEEM DOLLARS (SBD)

How Do They Decide What To Pay?

This is simple, well sort of... Once the final value of your upvote is locked and your payment is pending, they make a calculation to pay you out in 2 different currencies (SBD and SP).

All you need to know is 1) the author payout value and 2) the current market price of STEEM (in my example I use US$6.32). (Note to get a current STEEM quote, click: https://www.coingecko.com/en/coins/steem/trading_exchanges)

Half of the payout is in SBD and the other half of the payout is based on the current US$ amount of STEEM.

Here's the formulas I use to make it simple:

Payout formula as authors of comments or posts

Upvote value X 0.75 = Total Payout

Total Payout X .5 = SBD Payout (the first currency SBD)

(Total Payout X .5) / Mkt Price STEEM = Steem Power (SP) Payout (the 2nd currency SP)

My Homemade Payout Calculator

How Can I Estimate Ahead Of Time?

In the calculator I made above, I used a simple spreadsheet using those formulas above. You can use it 2 ways, for learning (looking at the past results) and forecasting (estimating and planning your strategies).

You can use the 2nd column to look at the past payouts (where you know the final author payout, and remember it varies but will always be higher than 75%) or you can use the 1st column to "estimate" what your payout will be at any given time on a single post.

Or as we discussed yesterday (How Much Money Is Coming? - An Awesome Tool To Find Out!), you can even calculate the value of your future payment on your items in the pipeline.

I hope this made it a little easier to understand the process of how you earn your money. Its important to grasp this concept if you want to understand other strategies to optimize your account. This step is necessary if you want to know how to calculate the value of awesome upvote services like @bumper because it is crucial in determining what is or isn't a "good deal". (Hint: make sure to learn because I'm going to be giving details from my testing with @bumper very soon and its pretty exciting I must say) ;)

If you have any questions, ask me anytime... I'm here to help and will do my best to answer.

ps... I didn't talk about the payout for curation on purpose, because 1) I haven't been paid much of it yet to figure it out and 2) I didn't want to complicate this post any further. But I repeat (3rd time) you only get paid full value for your upvote if the article is more than 30 minutes old. I tell you this so that you understand how it works and the messages you send.

Let me know what you think :)

As always, be humble... and now thanks to @keeperofthewoods be kind too!!!

(photo source: @keeperofthewoods)

Sort:  

As always, some good information for noobies like me. We appreciate the information so much and sharing the basics of Steemit like you do, helps us a lot. SteemON!

Thank you for telling me that Joe... It makes it worthwhile just to hear that. I think we can all spread the things we learn and make each of us better as we go. The better we all are, the more we can help each other. Its a virtuous cycle! Stay in touch and more articles like this coming soon ;)

Simple but good elaboration, good work here
resteemed, upvoted, commented

Thanks as always Prem!... You keep marching along... good job and keep it up my man! :)

Sure @davemccoy
we shall march further together

Could you go through my following post and only if you like it please resteem it

https://steemit.com/life/@premnakarmi/wedding-with-the-sun-gufa

Thank for the cooperation

very good information @davemccoy, thanks for sharing with us, now i understand, hmmm....

Thank you @thomasjug ... I'm glad you understand (and I like to hear the wheels are turning) ;) ... stay tuned, the usefulness of this info gets better and better :)

Thank you for really breaking it down for a better understanding.

You're welcome @tyrex, I'm glad it could help you to understand it better... :) ... come back soon, I have some good follow-up information coming too ;)

From what I've read, the curator credit is on a sliding scale with different tiers in the first 30 minutes, so you can still get partial curator rewards for upvotes before the 30 minute mark, but not before the 3 minute mark.

You are correct. I didn't want to bring that into the post because I wanted to keep it focused on the calculation on the "author's" totals. The only reason I mentioned the curation issue at all is because it took me two weeks to figure out that later is better for curation purposes. (so to make it simple, I just brought up the 30 minute or more you get it all)

but you are right and I'm glad you pointed it out here in the comments because I'm sure others are wondering how that works too.

Thanks for the comment @sha256md5... stay in touch and feel free to always look at my stuff and let me know if I make mistakes!

Thanks for this Dave! I hope your having a nice day!

Of course, and you will see how it all ties together soon too...

If you have done any @bumper submissions, make sure to track the "upvote" you received from them. https://www.steemworld.org/@qyugmo ... you can find it by going down to the "account operations" feed... and scroll down til you see either the bumper hit or flagship... open it up and it will tell you the exact upvote.

And come back and tell me 1) how much you paid 2) what was the upvote... I will then proceed to take you to the next step of evaluation.

Will do @davemccoy I'm just finishing up this piece for posting. Nowadays I'm being careful on what I post and maintaining quality content on my blog. So im taking my time. Will update you later

Hello how are You?

I am good @doinita, how have you been? I've missed you. I see you are doing very good now, I'm proud of you. Its awesome to see your reputation score going up! Keep it up.

So tell me how you've been, I'd like to know :)

I ve seen your posts You are very inventive and Smart, congratulation

Thank you doinita, that is nice of you to say... You're doing good too which is great to see ;)

Will bee kind

cool... that's the spirit @skornher ... and lol, love your username :)

Once again, another great informative post, thank you @davemccoy!! To make sure I understood for the most part, if I'm going to upvote a post and want to get curators reward than I should wait until the post is 30mins old before upvoting it?
Sorry for the dumb question....

Nvm, you don't need to answer it. I read the post again and got it! Thanks for figuring things out that crosses my mind preodically. Instead of researching it myself I just need to wait for you to make a post because so far you have been answering some questions I've had myself aince the start, hahahaha!!

Newbies follow this guy if you want to learn the ropes much faster! He's doing amazing work in just a very small amount of time!! Very informative dude:)

lol @jentz44... that was funny that you answered your own question :) ... and you're welcome and I do my best to answer the questions I have in my mind, but if you have any special requests, lmk ;)

And ps.. thanks for the plug with the newbies but I hope the oldtimers like you don't go away once you've learned everything... so don't even think about it ok? haha

Hahaha, I should have read it more thoroughly the first time! Sorry for the extra content..

Thanks! If I have questions running through my head and need to know the answer, you'll be the first to be asked :) That is.... If you haven't already answered it in a post before I may ask it!

There will always be something to learn!!
Keep up the awesome work helping all of us out ;)

interesting articles sir, make us more knowledge.

Thank you for telling me @dorauwa... Thats the goal, for all of us to learn it, then teach the others to help them too. Sooner or later, the learning spreads and before you know it, we are all enjoying ourselves and having success. Stay in touch and thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49