Let's Hear From The People First - Nominate A Witness (Valid Entries Earn A Newbie Nickel)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

lets talk witnesses2.jpg

Before we start with our interviews of various witnesses, I think it would be fun to hear from the user's themselves.

I have my favorites like @steemcommunity (@abh12345 and @paulag), @danielsaori, @qurator (@scrooger), @curie, @jackmiller, @yabapmatt, @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle) @resteemable and @patrice. Each selection I make has a story behind them, and one day I will tell you why they are my favorites. But not today!

But before I get my opinions out there, I would like to hear from the community directly. I want to listen to who you like and why. You can nominate ones that others nominate too, and every entry earns a newbie nickel. I want to reward people with my weekly bump in delegation to get involved in this issue, so every valid entry will earn the $0.05 upvote (limit 3 nominations per person)

No upvote or resteem is required. This is a post to listen to you. So tell us what you think!

Simple Rules

#1 Name A Witness That You Support
#2 Tell Us Why You Support Them
#3 (optional) Type Agree On Other Nominations, If You Agree (To Also Show Your Support)

Earn A Newbie Nickel ($0.05 upvote) on Every Valid Suggestion

Note: You Can Repeat This Up To 3 Times

Sort:  

Hello friend @davemccoy that I like to greet him, I will tell you that my first vote to witness was to @castellano, he has my full support because he has put his best effort in supporting the Hispanic community, in Venezuela is very respected, but we appreciate that he is always there for us, trying to make a strong community on the platform, thanks @castellano for being there for us.
I would also like to nominate @pharesim el in some mysterious way always support him with a heartfelt vote, which I have felt as a you are doing well my support for you, without leaving behind the support I gave to @steemcommunity representing an explosive duo and to @danielsaori who also supported him for his continued work in his contests and delegations.

Awesome @melvadg! I appreciate the replies and put you to the top of the board so that every one can see your picks and why! I will check out @castellano and @pharesim and learn what you see in them and of course I already know and support @steemcommunity and @danielsaori!

Its good to hear your thoughts and thank you so much for taking the time to share them with us! :)

Important discussion; just like it's an important discussion to impart to every person using Steemit why witnesses are important.

Important discussion because I believe we are entering a time on Steemit where "second generation" witnesses will start to gain traction; these are the "community builders," rather than the original "developers" who were most about building infrastructure rather than actually interacting with it.

There are no "bad actors" here, merely changing needs of an evolving community. And now the needs seem to be that we must build something that's OF LASTING VALUE IN THE LONG TERM. Which means a swing away from the line your pockets in the short term thinking.

That's my blanket intro to what is important to me in a witness.

Among the long-time witnesses, I like @krnel who has been fighting for quality and truth from day one; I like @arcange who's very active on the anti-fraud and anti-phishing fronts — which helps protect newbies; I like @steemgigs (an extension of @surpassinggoogle who's one of the hardest working community builders around). I also like @patrice for her tireless work battling spam and botnets.

Most of my votes go to the new generation of "community witnesses," whom I feel embody the direction Steemit needs to take to ensure "there's still something here" in another five or ten years: @qurator, @enginewitty, @steemcommunity, @danielsaori, @sircork, @steem-bounty.

=^..^=

Very well thought out and insightful @curatorcat. I especially liked this point:

There are no "bad actors" here, merely changing needs of an evolving community. And now the needs seem to be that we must build something that's OF LASTING VALUE IN THE LONG TERM. Which means a swing away from the line your pockets in the short term thinking.

I think this is true and will be a transition that will take time, but must happen!

Very insightful... And I think that point is spot on! :)

Thanks for the tremendous input and the nominations!!!

You see quite clearly.

@curatorcat is smart ;)

Thank you @davemccoy! Curator Cat is curious for sure, and just hopes his curiosity won't end up getting him swatted by someone who feels he should "hold his tongue" rather than point out obvious problems... ;-)

=^..^=

Ohhh I made something similar of the 30 witnesses that I support

This Redfish understanding of Witnesses and why they are important

Top on my list is Curie and Ocd-witness for what they are doing in looking for exceptional content and rewarding it.

Then since we are community minded people @qurator and @steemcommunity were no brainer picks for me.

@surpassinggoogle's @steemgigs was the very first witness I had and he continues to inspire me and want to build dreams for people Dream Building with Surpassinggoogle | Becoming Awesome

@enginewitty and @patrice of course because I fully support Steem Cleaners and what they do.

@ura-soul is another witness that I recently added to my list because he is also community minded and his steemocean.com is a great tool to look at voting behaviour.

Then we have @krnel because he stands for truth, information and adding value to the platform.

And one of my personal favorites @sircork who is now composed of the three-headed beast of giving voice to the little folks of @sircork, @rhondak and @beanz

I mostly voted for the lower tiered witnesses because the top 20 already have millions of vest around them. I want to give the other hardworking witnesses a chance to go up.

It is still my wish to see @sircork in the top 20.

Awesome @maverickinvictus, you have given all of us a great headsup on... I will definitely use your list as a guide since you have the best interest of the community in mind... Thank you very much and always happy to see you Mav! :)

Glad to be of service Dave! You know me anything that I can do to help out and inform people.

I know that for sure! You are one of the really good ones in life! I'm happy to have met you! And btw, thanks for helping on the radio show, that was awesome that you picked that ball up! :)

Well i would love to thank @foxyspirit first of all for telling me about this site she is a good friend of mine from fb as well as a customer 💜 then i want to thank @wwf and @earthmother for their help on teaching
Me and being soooooo patient with all my questions

Thank you so much for your mentioning the people that are helping you @aloha-creations! I'm glad to see you are still going strong and almost to a 40 reputation level after the rough start! Great job and happy to see you here giving support to people that are helping you :)

Yes ive been doing alot on my own as well .. looking for others to follow and vote on things i like. This place is very overwhelming at times to understand, lol im not very good with technology but i try.. thank u as well im just happy to help others though i dont know if its much im just two weeks new here and only been one maybe 6 days total of the 2 weeks.

You are doing very well for being here such a short period of time... Just keep being genuine and ask a lot of questions. I know there are many things to learn, I learn something every day still! Enjoy it and again great that you have been going up the ladder so fast! :D

we are not witnesses :) but we are here to help how we can!

Thank you so much for helping! That is better than being a witness in many people's eyes! :D

Thank you for such a great post. I am just learning about the witnesses this week. This fits in so nicely with my learning curve!! :) Have a fabulous day!!!

Then we will be learning together! Check out all the comments, they are teaching me something too! :D

I am reading it all! It's a great blog! Great commenting!! Well done!! Always something to learn

I will go with @steemcommunity, @qurator and @patrice.

@steemcommunity is my first choice because of my association with @abh12345 (as well as being a co-member with him of #stewardsofgondor program.) for whatever he has done including those curation leagues and some nice stats he shares.

@qurator is constantly helping it's registered members including minnows with rewarding their posts on daily basis along with conducting the contests for them.

I have known @patrice through the @steemcleaners program and her contributions as part of that and trying to help new joiners in correcting their mistakes (which might have been done knowingly or unknowingly) is always appreciated.

Also, it would be nice if someone comes up with a detailed info of each of these people mentioned in this blog to give a better idea of why we need to support them, what they have done to justify your selection.

Thanks for this @davemccoy.

Yes that is exactly right! That is the purpose here... I want to learn these people and make a good choice so we can help others with the information! I'm glad you're here and happy to see your list @coolguy123 :) I look forward to working with you my friend! :)

Great!!, I am sure people will appreciate that.

This is a nice exercise for the people and nice to know about their favorite candidates for witness.

There are so many who are doing good things and are gonna be witnesses at some point of time, but since the rule was to restrict it to 3, I just selected 3.

I will wait for your next steps and this is exciting.

you did it perfect... I think it is best to gently make people aware, too many new things and then people's minds shut off! Awesome to have you onboard :)

Yeah, refreshing minds of people about something is necessory when we want to give emphasis on that something.

Hey, when are you gonna put your candidature for a witness @davemccoy? I will be the first to vote for your candidature. :)

Thanks @coolguy123 :) .... That is awesome to say and I'm truly flattered! I have no plans to be a witness, I plan on supporting the great ones like @steemcommunity @danielsaori @yabapmatt @qurator @curie @jackmiller etc... The goal is to get witnesses that support the community so we are better represented in the decision process!

Great!!, I knew you will tell this. Appreciate your concern about others.
You don't have to be a witness to do something, you just need to be a @davemccoy, I mean just like @davemccoy :)

Let me go back and check some of the other members you have mentioned in this message about their witness candidature. I have few more votes still left and can use those.

Thanks again for everything and especially about the concern related to supporting the community.

Have a good Sunday Dave :)

One of the first people I voted for witness was @patrice (1st or 2nd, I don't remember exactly). I had come across a totally bogus new account with quotes off another article, the person claiming to be a famous footballer and every single comment was 'I like, follow me,' After not having much luck with a few witnesses I was directed to @patrice gave me a straightforward answer, was easy to work with. She genuinely comes across as wanting to 'take out the trash'.

I have also voted for @steemcommunity. @abh12345 was one of the first people on the forum to reach out and help. He has a genuine concern for content, newbies and the like. I have to admit. I had not heard of @paulag prior to this. One of the most analytical minds I have seen. What I like the most is she doesn't just throw up a graph, she breaks it down and explains it's effects.

Thank you very much for the nice list! I have all of your nominations on my list and it shows great minds think alike! :P ... Thanks for the effort to respond and let people know @tryskele! It is just a start in getting people we want elected, but every opinion starts somewhere! :)

One of my favorite picks is @ura-soul.

Ranked 74th in the active witness list with a mere 3 missing blocks on their record. If that were not enough one needs only mention that ura-soul is the creator of steemocean.com and Ureka.org.

A cool and competent Witness!

You can find the full.list of my picks and why in a recent post at :

https://steemit.com/witnesses/@novacadian/my-current-witness-choices

Thank you very much for a good suggestion and a solid reason that others can investigate! I will check out @ura-soul for sure! And also thanks for the full list, that is helpful too! :)

Even though Asher is my proxy, I still keep an eye out on the whole witness thing! So @steemcommunity, @daneilsaori, @krnel, @qurator are one's I picked that I believe Ash has kept. I need to pull up his/my list to have a good look, but I totally trust him...hence the proxy :)

This is such an important discussion; I think when someone joins, there's so much to learn that choosing their witnesses gets put on the back burner. Hopefully this can show that's it's something worth learning alongside how to post, what your wallet means etc.

:) Hey Lynn! I agree completely with every point you make.. In addition to your points about the witnesses, I also think it is something that gets pushed aside... Thats why I want to focus on it so that we can help to do our part and make a small difference.. For now, until we become much bigger! ;)

haha agreed!! I just went to upvote your comment and realized my delegation is now gone...so just know, I've upvoted you in my heart :)

that's all that counts :P

I know! You taught me that too :)

I’d say Steemcommunity, simply because I’m 100% convinced Asher is a good guy and his vision on how the platform should be is very alike with what I think.
I trust him, and I know he cares a lot about the community. He hasn’t forgotten what it is like to be one of the small guys and provides help wherever he can. I truly believe he can make SteemIt a better place.
(I don’t know Paulag, though. Maybe she has other values and will have a bad influence on Asher... who knows. On the other hand, I trust Asher enough to be sure he wouldn’t team up with someone that has other intentions)

They have my vote!

I agree on Asher and I have learned about @paulag and watched what she had done and how she reacts... In my opinion, she is very much kick ass @simplymike! Once you get to know her, I think you will be very impressed! ;)

I'd say @simplymike is pretty kick ass too, just in different ways :D

I'd say we all are @plushzilla :)

I get my butt kicked more often though :D

hahaha Never by me! :)

I do hope that when one is needed then you will be more than happy to oblige :p

Hey just say the word buddy!! :)

Bad influence? Hehe, I doubt Asher would team up with her if that’s the case. I don’t know paulag well either (we all know Asher!) but she seems cool. I trust Asher too!

I know @paulag well and she has done a lot for the #blockchainbi community (formerly #bisteemit) to help use data for good and make the information on the Steem blockchain available for people who want to understand what is happening behind the scenes of Steemit. Not only that, she is an educator helping those who also want to do the same thing as well, and I know that she and Asher teaming up means that we can expect even greater things in the future!

Mine just have to be @surpassinggoogle and @danielsaori.
@surpassinggoogle is so kind and have a big heart, i read a post about what his epic reward for helping people was and he said that people's success are his compensation.
@danielsaori because he is kind too and always ready to help and offer advice, his steemit comment challenge that runs every week have helped a lot of people most especially minnows.Awesome.

Awesome selections both of them Grace! I agree with you very much on Terry! I think that young man can change the world one day and I hope that I can get enough power to help him do it! And of course we both know how awesome Daniel is, he has brought many of us together through his weekly game too!

Thank you for your input and I'm always happy to see what you think! :)

Thank you Dave, i know people do not really like when you compare them, but you are just like Terry. 😉😊

I like Terry a lot and know he is working so hard for so many... I am flattered that you would say that, but believe me, I am not anywhere near his level when it comes to giving! He is trying to change the world, I am just trying to do my small part to help him!

Hi Grace. Why did you comment on Dave’s post and not my witness post? (It was awhile back) I’m hurt now. 😩

I’ve missed seeing you around! Terry is caring indeed. He has my witness vote too.

😄😄@beeyou, it was not intentional. you know i love seeing your beautiful smiling face. Yes, Terry is caring.

I love seeing your awesomeness as well @gracefavour. I know you love seeing me too. :)

cute... love this @beeyou :)

Yes, i really really do :)

good comeback Grace :P ... lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82