You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Daily Dose: Spamming on Steemit ain't cool.

in #steemit7 years ago

I disagree with your view putting "bottymcbotface" into the spamming category. He does a valuable job introducing and giving folks a tip with when they join the platform. If you don't like it, then don't upvote it, remember the choice is always yours. If you think of it as spam, then develop your own system of welcoming and introducing people to the platform. Don't look at what he is making from it, it is at that point because people see value in it

Sort:  

Dude... using a bot to write the same text to every user that joins the platform is the best example of spamming! And giving a .001 "tip" is another way of spam! A lot of people send transfers and in the memo they put a link to a post, just to get noticed. I think yes, that user is one of the top spammers on this platform.

That's what I should've said! Haha, I'm glad I'm not the only one who thinks it's more than a little spammy.

BookingTeam, now there's the top spammer on the platform. Thousands of rewards from his circle-jerk crew every day:

https://steemit.com/curation/@lexiconical/exposing-advertiser-circle-jerks-in-trending-reward-pool-rape-and-bookingteam-com

Hey you're welcome to disagree @daudimitch. I didn't accuse it of being spam but I happen to think your evaluation of the value created by those actions is flawed.

There is no need to develop a 'system' - A pretty decent system already exists where real users greet new users.

I don't spend much time welcoming newbies on Steemit any more, I've built connections and so naturally there's less time.

I do, however, spend time in the #help feed to assist newbies & spend time in the chat offering assistance when needed. I do it to help, not in the hopes I'll get an upvote.

If a bot could do that, I'd happily upvote it all day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80