You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Down-Voting as Censorship" - A Series About Fixing Steemit - Part 2

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Posts like these always fail to address what I feel is the most important use of the flag. Disagreement with rewards. I can't speak for everyone of course but I believe one of the reasons Jerry Banfield's posts started to get a lot of flags was the absurd amount of money they were getting, largely due to bots. There is a set amount in the reward pool every day and by flagging or upvoting you are really voting on how you think rewards should be distributed.

It's a different story of course if someone is getting flagged to the point of posts being hidden. Then it obviously isn't about just the rewards.

I'm not saying there is no abuse going on, but disagreement with rewards is an absolutely legitimate and encouraged way to use the flag.

Sort:  

@darth-azrael,

Posts like these always fail to address what I feel is the most important use of the flag.

I completely agree with all the things you articulated. As you can see, though, this post was already really long ... and hence, my Series of Articles. In my next article (almost finished), I will address the bid-bot problem.

Quill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35